My experience stripping my brand new black Vokeys

Allergic2Birdies ·  
Allergic2BirdiesAllergic2Birdies Members  70WRX Points: 44Posts: 70 Bunkers

I have always been one who is a huge fan of the raw wedge look. Yet being a college student, I can't really afford the extra $$$ Vokey charges for raw wedges. I decided I wanted to strip my new black SM7s with CLR. So far the results are really good. I included some pictures below. With my first attempt, I didn't get enough CLR to cover the whole wedge (you can see the line pretty well on them). I put the wedges in there for about 30 minutes and just scrubbed them w a normal rag. I have yet to play with them and will get more CLR. I still have to soak them more to get rid of the black on the hosel. Looking to get that complete raw look w the black paint fill.

Interested to hear about any of our experiences with stripping a finish of a wedge/iron or what techniques you guys use. Will post pictures and updates.

Posted:
Post edited by Allergic2Birdies on
Tagged:

Comments

• Crooksc17Crooksc17 NJMembers  916WRX Points: 100Handicap: 5Posts: 916 Golden Tee

Scotchbrite pad instead of a rag will do the trick

Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad

Advertisement
  • lookylookitzadamlookylookitzadam SoCalMembers  625WRX Points: 229Handicap: 2.7Posts: 625 Golden Tee

I did mine with vinegar and a scotchbrite. They are super rusty now and will try and post pictures soon.

Posted:
  • brickhouzebrickhouze Members  5WRX Points: 27Handicap: 8Posts: 5 Bunkers

I did mine in vinegar and scrubbed with a sponge. Rust is coming slowly - tempted to force it with a salt water bath, but I don't want an unnatural look.

Posted:
  • DaltonSTLDaltonSTL St. LouisMembers  1050WRX Points: 109Handicap: 6Posts: 1,050 Platinum Tees

On -, @brickhouze said:

I did mine in vinegar and scrubbed with a sponge. Rust is coming slowly - tempted to force it with a salt water bath, but I don't want an unnatural look.