2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Cutting down belly putter to standard length

sTmGolfer

Thank you!!!
So I am an admittedly bad putter. I am in constant search of that "putter". I have had brief moments of mediocrity where putters have satisfied me for ... well ... brief moments.

I know, I know .... every WRXer has had the same story. But I recently did something I've never done before and have been blown away.

I had a PING Pickemup 43'' belly putter. I chopped it down to 39'' and had a really hunched over belly putter stance. Thought I would love it but ehhh ... less than satisfied.

So I chopped it again down to the current length of 35''. With a head weight of 390 grams and a heavy belly shaft, it is a match made in heaven. It smoothed my stroke out like I have never had before. Super solid feel, very stable stroke, and most importantly, CONFIDENCE.

Just curious if anyone has tried the same sort of thing and enjoyed themselves as much as I have ...

PING 430 Max 10.5 
PING G430 Max 18.5 
PING G430 Max 20.5 
PING i230 4-W DGS300 120
PING Glide 4.0, 50SS / 54SS / 58SS
Axis 1 Joey

• 3 weeks later...
  • Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Count me as one of those people. Cut down a scotty pro plat mid sur to 35" and it feels great to me. It feels much smoother during my putts and the like the way the ball comes of the face with a heavier club. The weight really helps calm my hands down before my stroke because I get fidgety sometimes over putts.

Speaking of shaking hands before a putt. I saw at the Crown Plaza Charlie Wie bouncing the putter head of the ground before stroking the putt. I wonder if that is a way for him to calm his hands down or avoid a moment of trying to stay still but shaking before a shot.

[quote name='mrnoonan' timestamp='1306216908' post='3257680']