2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Equipment costs

Cheeezy1

I’ve been playing golf for many years and have seen the price of clubs sky rocket. One thing I have noticed is that you have to pay more and get less. I’ve been looking into purchasing new irons and when I see the price, initially I think that it’s a descent price but then I notice that the set only consists of Six or seven clubs. Iron sets traditionally and typically come with eight clubs. Whether it be 3-pw or 4-aw. When you factor in the price to purchase the Eighth club, you’ve payed even more then if you bought an eight iron set. Realistically what you that was a descent price, really isn’t at all. 

It’s like the manufacturers are doing the same thing as the food industry. If you’ve noticed in recent years how a 2 liter bottle of Soda is not any more and we’re still paying the same if not a little more now. 

This trend is very concerning. Paying more and getting less. Maybe if a video comes out about this trend, it’ll stop before it goes any further. It’s very concerning what’s happening in the golf industry

You're dead on Cheeezy. Fortunately, the prices drop like a stone as newer models come out. That is, unless the clubs end up being a really hot item. I tend to buy models that are 1.5 to 2 yrs old that are still in the wrapping yet are usually hundreds less. Also, don't ignore the less prominent brands like Cobra, Wilson and others that don't spend millions in advertising and pro contracts. Plenty of good clubs out there, you just have to dig a little.

Brian

• Like 1

Dr#1 Cobra Speedzone 10.5 – HZRDUS Yellow HC 65 TX @ 46”
Dr#2 Mizuno STZ 220 9.5 (10.5) - HZRDUS Smoke IM10 65 Low TX @ 46"

Mizuno ST190 15 - HZRDUS Smoke Yellow 70 TS @ 43"
Mizuno STZ 220 18- HZRDUS Smoke Yellow 70 TS @ 42"
Mizuno MP15 4-PW - Aldila RIP Tour 115 R
Cobra MIM Wedges 52, 56 & 60 – stock KBS Hi-Rev @ 35.5”

Odyssey V-Line Stroke Lab 33.5"
Grips - Grip Master Classic Wrap Midsize