2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Golfing alone

stikillller

Absolutely this ... I teach and have to deal with students most days. I enjoy the company of golf. But some Saturdays it's just better for me to get out to my local course alone and just play. I play at my own pace, don't have to wait on anyone else. It's an escape from the responsibilities for a few hours and it's nice to just enjoy the quiet.

For me, playing alone and playing with the 1-2 guys that I really enjoy getting out there with are tied for first. Playing with 2-3 friends is right behind that, playing with 6-7 over two tee times is a solid third, and playing by myself or with a buddy and getting paired with randoms is dead last.

I'm a teacher too, and a parent to two girls. I have to be "on" all the time. Getting the solitude is priceless. And if I had to rely on my friends to join me, I'd play maybe 5% of the rounds I'm aiming for in a given year.

My preferred ways to play ranked in preference

Playing in a scramble with friendsPlaying individual competition (tourney)Playing for money with a buddy playing alonePlaying with "social" golfersPlaying with 3 people who have coronavirusPlaying with my one friend who always aims 40 yards right, acts surprised when It goes 40 yards right, and then gets mad at me when I casually mention that he was lined up there.

I wish I could play solo golf more, but I have a problem with tracking my ball. I have very poor vision (even corrected) because of the "floaters" in my field of view. When I move my eyes to watch the golf ball, I can't track it because of all the floaters. Plus, the propensity to be wild off the tee doesn't help at all. Anyone else have this problem?

Callaway Rogue ST Triple Diamond S - Ventus Black 7X

Cobra F9 - Ventus Black 8X

Ping Rapture Driving Iron - Ventus Black 9TX

Srixon ZU85 (4) - Tour AD 105X

Srixon ZX7 - (5-AW) - LAGP L Series Stiff

Callaway 2019 PM Grind (54&58) - LAGP L Series WV