2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Manuel De La Torre Swing Focus

Hi Guys,
I'm relatively new to the game and I’ve shopped around for ways to learn the golf swing naturally. Through reading and YouTube, I’ve really resonated with the teachings of Manuel De La Torre. While there isn’t too much available content regarding club-focused instruction online relative to body-focused instruction, I’ve been happy to see such awesome praise for the teachings of MDLT from @juststeve and other members of GolfWRX. With that being said, I figured this might be the best place to seek answers on some questions I have regarding the core swing philosophy.
Simply put, should I be focusing on maintaining a smooth swinging motion (such as the ball on a string) while swinging back with both hands and forward with both arms, providing me four discrete thoughts to focus on in the swing motion. Or, can I disregard the ball on the string line of thinking and focus solely on back with hands and forward with both arms?

Thanks,
Nick

• Like 1

Each instructor is going to have there own way of doing it. My advice is to stick with one teacher weather it be online, in person or reading there book. This way you don't get information from multiple sources. For instance Dave Pelz and Stan Utley couldn't be more different in their teaching philosophy. However they both have taught on the PGA tour and had success with their methods. If you went to each one of them for lessons you would be so confused. I only pick these too as I spent about three years working under both of them at different times in my life.

Manueal De La Torre teaches more of a hands swing and the body will follow. With the advent of technology some will argue that the best ball strikers the body moves the golf swing and not the hands.

My message is stick with someone you believe in and don't let all the other noise change you.