"Boutique" vs Major OEM

gr8 flopshot

I've been playing for about 20 years. In that time period I have played just about every major OEM. At specific points in time, I even believed the OEM I was playing at the time was THE BEST. The interesting thing is right now, I look t my bag and the only thing OEM in my bag are my woods. I will put my Sub70 699 irons and my Sub70 wedges up against any OEM irons & wedges. I would also put my Slighter putter up against anyone's putter.

So, with absolute belief that "boutique" manufactures can make great products, can someone help me understand why it seems they trail the OEMs in drivers and woods? I am all about performance at htis point knowing a name is just a name and usually higher cost to offset their marketing costs. I just want clubs that perform for me. In all fairness, I plan to try the Sub70 fairway wood that was mentioned in Golf digest and Not allowed because of spam most wanted list. However, it has a huge mountain to climb when it comes to my Epic Flash SZ woods. Like wise, I can't really see ANY driver booting my SIM out of the bag. That being said, does anyone have a different experience and actually game a "boutique" Driver and or fairway woods?

Driver - Ping G430 9.0*  Mitsubishi Diamana ZF Series 60 stiff 
3W - Ping G425 Max  Mitsubishi Diamana ZF Series 70 stiff 

7W - Ping G425 Max  Mitsubishi Diamana ZF Series 70 stiff 

4 Hybrid - Ping G425 AD DI 95S
Irons - Ping i525 Black dot Project x IO S
Wedges -Vokey Wedgeworks SM9 54* & 58* Modus 115 S
Putter - Lajosi PTriple Protoype

Genuinely good point.

It's like why we buy JDM eg

Yonex Ezone 420...and the

famed J33 Bridgestone driver from long ago! T.E.E is another one..always a surprise there.With your wood/driver if your sorted that's fine!You don't have to bag an exotic club to hit fairways.

• Like 1

2020 18 July mid winterNZ
Ping Rapture 2006 10.5
Nike VrS 3wood
Callaway Razr Edge5 wood

MP100=33 9876 5/mp63
54     RTX2
60     RTX2