Does it make sense for me to get fitted as a 23 index?

sfgolf

Hi.

I have been golfing for about two years and more consistently for about 6 months. My current index is about 23. I am short (5'3") and have always wanted to get fitted. Every time i go to a golf store looking to get fitted for irons or a driver, i hit a few balls, they do some measurements and i am told just to cut my clubs down by an inch. Do i need to go get a proper fitting with adjusted lofts and lie angles? Or does it not matter because my index is so high?

I'm willing to invest in a set and get them fitted properly but i'm not sure if it is worth it at this point. My current bag has everything as standard length, loft and lie. I can easily have my clubs shortened but i just don't know if that is all i need to do. I would also like any advice on next steps.

Not sure if this matters but my current bag: Gapr 3 mid 16.5° (driving club), 4-GW Titleist AP1 718, 54° and 58° Cleveland rtx-3 wedges.I have a M4 Driver but i have put it away for now.

Thanks in advance.

Talk to the people you plan to get fitted by. If they seem interested in your situation, it will definitely help.

I was in the same situation, as I’m taller than usual and got conscious about length and lie. Went to my local store, booked an iron fitting and the guy ended up trying to push new clubs on me and hitting in his own simulator to show how much distance I was losing with my swing flaws. Very encouraging.

Went to another store and talked to them, they asked about my current skill level and what I think I’ll take away from a fitting. Hit balls for 15 minutes and he did make me aware of my swing faults, but recommended adjustments to lie and length and that helped tremendously.

WITB 2024

Dr Mizuno ST-Z

3W Cally Rogue ST Max

5W Mizuno ST-Z

4H New Level NLH-01

5/6i New Level 902 OS

7i-PW New Level 902 PD

GW/SW/LW  Mizuno S23

Putter Odyssey WhiteHot OG 2-Ball

Ball  Vice Pro/Snell MTB Prime