Left hand low lag putting

I have been putting left hand low for a couple of years now. My putting with conventional grip was poor, pulled short putts constantly from even as shot as 1 foot so had to make a change.

My putting was great for quite some time, but recently its been horrendously erratic. In the last 5 rounds ive had 29 putts, 39, 39, 36, 39 and then for the last 5 days i have practiced 3-8 feet putts on my matt in my kitchen for 45 mins every day. Yesterday i went out, shot 82 (im an 18 handicap) with 29 putts again. Sounds great right? The issue is that my lag putting is leaving me a lot of work to do. On holes 1 and 3 (both par 3s) i hit the green but 3 jacked them both for bogie. I can regularly leave a 15 foot, slightly up hill putt 5-6 feet short, then il have a 10 feet downhill putt and il smash it 6 feet past. I feel more confident in getting the ball into 1 putt range from a 30 foot chip, than a 20 foot putt.

The greens at my course are in great condition and are consistent, but i just cannot get the feel for lag putting. So my question is, does anyone have any good lag putting drills that have specifically helped left hand low putters to get this better long distance control?

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In the past ive struggled with a long back stroke and then decellerating into the ball, so ive been working on a shorter stroke and accellerating through the ball, altering the swing length for distance. 5 feet an in im loving life, but get out to those long putts and both length and line suffer.

Ive heard of people putting whilst looking at the hole on lag putts, so might give this a go on the practice green this coming week and see if that helps.