First high-end putter: Search is on

philsRHman

So many options out there, help me narrow it down
I'm very new to the idea of a custom putter, but I've read so much here about the process and I've decided the overhaul my bag has been through over the past 18 months won't be complete without a great putter. Since I can anticipate the "get the one that makes the most putts" responses, I totally understand I need to get out and try different styles and options. However, there's such a vast amount of options that I'd like to narrow it down (for instance, with a gated stroke I can rule out a whole bunch of putters such as the Spider, which I didn't realize until reading the forums, I just knew they didn't feel right).

At the moment I'm trying to sell off an Odyssey Mickelson PT-82 that I was lucky enough to get a few weeks ago. The problem is, as gorgeous as it is, I just can't get comfortable with it. It's too long (35") and I can't get my eyes over the ball in a decent posture. I'm short (5-foot-5) and like to putt with my arms dangling toward the floor. I've got a gated stroke, yet when the pressure is (or even just not concentrating) my miss is a dead push.

Quick history of my putters. For the first 15 years of my golfing life I played with an Arnold Palmer Original 8802 style putter. It's long (35 or 36") and finally gave it up as I entered my 30s and my belly was hanging over my waist, getting in the way of the butt end of the putter (sad, but true). Since then I have been playing an Odyssey #9 XG. It's 33" and even that I tend to choke down half an inch or so. My stroke typically starts with a forward press.