2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Now that it's legal, Going to use a rangefinder?

easyyy

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2 weeks later...

I've been using rangefinders for the last 4 years now and personally think they're great. Exspecially when playing an unknown course. I also found that it speeds up play significantly, if used properly. My current unit has slope so I can't use it in tourneys but I use my own yardage book anyways (created using a rangefinder of course).

However you find me a little confused. First of all the use of rangefinders was never forbidden at all unless you're playing a tournament or EDS round of course. As of Jan 1st they're allowed in tournament rounds IF the local comittee says so via a local rule. As of today I have yet to encounter a course which has such a local rule. As I'm living in Germany I wouldn't consider this fact overly impressive, as most clubs over here probably haven't even noticed the opportunity. But I'm curious what the quota is in other countries, how many say yes vs. no?

• 2 months later...

is it worth the extra $$$ to get the bushnell 1500 with slope or should i just get the bushnell 1500 tournament edition?

If you are thinking about tournament play,

there is a reason they call it the tournament edition.

Because it's legal.

(The slope is not legal - as to it's worth, it may help train you to judge slope - so when you don't have it with you during a hc round or tourney, you can take an educated guess)

Father, Wannabe Golfer, Novelist

• Ping G430 Max 9/TPT 19Hi Golf Shaft @45 in. (coming soon)
  • Ping G430 3 wd/TPT 19 Hi
  • Callaway Paradym 18/ TPT Golf 18 Hi
  • Ping G430 4H/TPT Golf
  • Ping i230 5-PW Recoil Dart 90
  • Artisan 50, 55, 59 or Ping Glide Forged Pro, Both with Nippon 105 
  • Putter:  LAB DF3 TPT Shaft (waiting)
  • Vessel Bag
  • ProV1x
  • Ping ChipR in messy or no turf conditions