Editor review: 2012 PING i20 fairway wood

It has earned a spot in my bag for 2012. How about yours?!
First and foremost I want to thank PING golf andGolfWRX to test and review some of the latest and greatest offerings from PING.Thank you Rob from WRX and Mike from PING especially.

Just a few things aboutmyself before I get into the review. I am a golf enthusiasts, as many guys arehere on WRX. I have been golfing for about six years now (former baseballplayer) and take it serious, but always enjoy my time on the course. I carry ahandicap index of 8. Some strengths of my game are wedge play and iron play.Woods and hybrids had generally given me trouble until I stumbled upon the i15hybrid.

Club tested: 2012 PING i20 Fairway Wood 15* 3 wood

• Pros: The matteblack finish is both functional and great looking from address.It eliminates glare that most other clubheads don't. The black face really helps the ball stand out when lining up theclub at address. The stock shaft offering is a solid stock offering with no upcharge. Solid feel and sound at impact. Great off the tee and deck, as well as, out of the rough.
  • Cons: I had trouble getting my ideal ballflight. May not be an issue with all golfers, but it was for me. Longer stock length than I am used to. Really not many things wrong with this club, I mean that.
  • Overall Bottomline: PING has another nice offering. Doesn't appear to be as easy to hit and as forgiving as the G15 that I own. The all black stealth look is sure to attract many people. There are other all black clubs on the market,but none others have matte black glare free finish which is great. The sound and feel are very nice at impact, and mishits come with good feedback for the user. In my opinion this is a club that would be great for a mid to low handicapper and someone looking to lower their launch.

Editor/Tester Review:

• Look (5 stars)