Where would you retire to golf?

I lived in the Phoenix area for 4 years and in Ft. Lauderdale/ Miami area for 1 year. I would say if it was just golf I would choose Phoenix because there is better variety of golf courses (not just desert), where Florida had so many courses that felt the same. The winter weather was better in Florida though. I think I probably only had to wear long pants about 5 or 6 times the year I was in Florida, but in Phoenix you can have really cold nights/mornings from late December-mid February. I worked in the golf business in both places and we had many frost delays in Phoenix during the winter but I don't recall one down in South Florida. The summer was extremely hot in both places, but in Florida there were a ton of storms. I enjoyed both places but I hope to move back out to Phoenix someday again.

Why no mention of San Diego here? Don't have to worry about melting 4-5 months out of the year like Florida or Texas. Yes, real estate a bit higher, but I'm sure there are deals to be had in SD just like anywhere else. And you have the beach, great golf courses (think Torrey Pines) and perfect weather 24/7.

[quote name='TML' timestamp='1350346247' post='5798931']
[quote name='ukalum' timestamp='1350345537' post='5798877']
All great points and ideas. I completely agree that you need to find an area that has more to it than just golf.

Florida and AZ seem to be the easy retirement choices, but the Georgia and Carolina's intrigue me as a much better golf area year round. I like the idea of having seasons, as long as the winter season is short, and still manageable to golf during it.

I've played a lot of courses in the Phoenix and Naples area and the golf is good. But unless you are playing the very top courses the second tier aren't arent nearly as interesting in golf in the non tropical/desert areas.
[/quote]