Tour Tempo - A Short (long) Story

[quote name='parmark' timestamp='1371695163' post='7286972']
Golf clap. Like you I tried this, got frustrated and said the heck with it. I'll have to revisit this little baby.

Thanks for sharing. Good stuff. Did you make the birdie on 18 is what I want to know!?
[/quote]

Thanks for reading, I really appreciate it and good question. I hit a PW to about 15-18 feet. Putt got to the hole and actually rolled back an inch. I didn't hit it hard enough but there was also a little hump around the entire hole. Ended up shooting an 84. My putting was horrible, with 37 putts.

Also, I've never had a ranger rush me like that. I was pissed.

I'm a relative beginner, and started using Tour Tempo after reading the book over the winter. I started right off with the 24/8 tones, which was actually much slower than my swing. No wonder my friends said I looked like I was trying to kill the ball! I'm not a long hitter by any means, but after a large bucket of a 6 iron just trying to ingrain that tempo, my average distance with that club went from 125 to 145-150. I haven't tried it with the driver yet, as that beast is nothing but a slice machine for me. Just trying to really ingrain the feel of the smooth tempo and transition, along with the 78 other swing thoughts I have from reading too many threads online.

I played really well for a while after reading Tour Tempo. The only problem is I would still get in modes where I hit my dreaded pulls or pull-draws. Other than that it allowed me to play some really good golf. Eventually I moved on to a more pivot driven swing (less conscious use of arms and hands). I still recommend Tour Tempo to people though. Great method. Below is a link to a review I wrote on Amazon (January 2, 2006):