2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Curious - what is zero tolerance for ALL specs in a set worth?

TomWishon

I would only consider paying extra to get tolerences that tight if I were a low single-digit/scratch amateur who plans on playing a lot of tournament golf OR a touring professional. At that level I believe you need any advantage you can get to increase your chances of making cuts and placing/winning tournaments. As a 20+ handicap weekend hack, the extra money I'd spend on something like that would be a waste. In fact at my skill level, paying for those tolerences would probably give me more of a placebo effect than anything else.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As a club builder, I'm having a hard time figuring a value for all of this. We like to think that we are building to a closer spec than a OEM because we are actually doing the build, not a 9-5 worker. I think for this reason I would have to look at the things that are not adjustable, like the specs of the shafts for instance. Lengths, Lofts, Lies, Face Angles, total weight, swing weight, and grip size are fairly easily manipulated with the right equipment and knowledge. The items that are more "out of control", like shaft profile, would seem to hold a higher value in my book. I have built my business around manufacturers that seem to take more interest in the quality of their products, such as Wishon, Accra, and Pure and have stayed away from the companies that tend to go after "tonnage", which I won't name. I guess as far as a value, I would say that the hourly rate of the builder should be increased. Think of it like a mechanic. There are a lot out there, but most people, when they find that one mechanic that can make their car purr like no other, will spend the extra $$$ for their service. Just my $.02.