The Truth About Rust On a Club

rbhan12

I've seen a lot of people suggesting correct and incorrect methods to produce rust on a club, typically their wedge. As a chemist, I want to hammer out some facts for all of you wondering about how to rust your wedges. Before you do anything else, you need to have the iron exposed; that means removing the finish on the club.

FACT 1: Iron will not rust in dry air; there has to be moisture

FACT 2: Iron will not rust submerged solely in water; oxygen must be present

FACT 3: Iron loss and rust formation occur at different places

FACT 4: Iron will rust more quickly in an acidic environment

FACT 5: Iron will rust more quickly in an ionic environment

FACT 6: Iron will rust more quickly when in contact with a less active metal such as copper, and slower with a more active metal, like zinc.

Basically, don't keep your club in water or wrapped in a wet towel, you're doing nothing for yourself. Don't keep it submerged in coke or in salt water either, you're not gonna get any rust until you expose it to air. In fact, if you're keeping it in coke, all you're doing is causing more iron loss.

Corrosion is a fairly complex electrochemical process, if you guys want me to go into further detail I can. That being said, if you keep those 6 facts on hand and remember them, you'll find yourself rusting your wedges a lot faster.

[url="http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/1006275-rbhan12s-witb-m10-damascus-twins-added/"]http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/1006275-rbhan12s-witb-m10-damascus-twins-added/[/url]

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Water contains dissolved oxygen so why wouldn't rust form when fully submerged in water or wrapped in a wet paper towel?

Driver- Cally Mavrik SZ 9*, Fujikura Ventus Black, S
3wd- Cally Flash SZ, UST ATTAS Elements, S
Hybrids- Cally Flash 18* & Apex Pro 24* Matrix HM3 95 Black Tie, S
Irons- TM 790 4-6,  TM 760 6-PW,  Steelfiber i95, S
GW- TM  770, Modus 105 S