5 Things that make me go Hmmmm...

Mr 61

I guess I'm lucky in that at my home course the service all around is very good. As far as alcohol, I don't drink when I play but I do enjoy a nice draft on tap after my round for $3.50, which is cheaper than most bars in town, so no complaints there either!

The rangers aren't the Gestapo, but they will and do make on course corrections when players fall out of position. Last weekend we got stuck behind an extremely slow two some. The ranger came around on the 8th hole and I told him they were holding up the course and we were going to skip #9 to get around them. The ranger said no I'll tell them your going around them at the turn, and we did!

4) I will make a general comment for pretty much most golf course pro shops. When I started playing in the 1970's the course pro shop was where you bought everything from shoes, clubs, balls,,,,,ect. I started out on a little nine hole track but the pro shop there looked like the golf section of Dick's today. Rows and rows of clubs, balls, shoes. Over the years the Big Box stores and the internet have basically taken all that business away from the average golf course pro shop. They just don't do enough volume to justify carrying all that equipment so they stock the shelves with clothing and overpriced balls and other accessories. Today's pro shops have basically become a convenience store where a loaf of bread is double the price of what you would pay at a supermarket. Just substitute bread for golf balls, tees, gloves, and shirts!
There are exceptions to the rule mostly in high volume golf areas like Myrtle Beach. Most of those pro shops are still stocked like all pro shops use to be back in the day!

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic