Who here works in the Golf Industry? - Thinking about a career change ...

afireinside

Hello All,

As stated above, I am contemplating a career/life change into the Golf Industry. I'm still a newbie as far as playing is concerned (Starting 4th Season) ... I have a good job with lots of job security ... But I'm getting tired of not loving what I do for a living.

I am a golf junkie, I cant get enough - I literally love everything there is about the sport (except pace of play lol) - I'm willing to relocate & move around the states even internationally if I have to ... I have nothing holding me back and I don't want to look back 20 years from now with regrets about not making the move.

I need to talk to people in the industry, ask questions and find out my best options for advancement ... So, if you are in the industry please post and tell me everything you possibly can - Good, bad, indifferent ... Doesn't matter - I want to gather as much information as possible before I take the leap ...

Thanks in advance

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

[quote name='ben w' timestamp='1393348840' post='8742216']
I can't speak for the entire industry, but if you work at a golf course inside the pro shop you probably won't play as much as you think, and the hours are rough.

Doing sales would offer you a lot of free time to be on the course, as well as taking clients out.
[/quote]

This is true. You will be really good at folding shirts though.

[quote name='jewofgolf' timestamp='1393350376' post='8742366']
IMO, you can ruin a good life with plenty of money and golf by working in golf.
[/quote]

What does that even mean? lol