Callaway Seeks Permanent Injunction Against Titleist

kemau

• Replies 277
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Just noticed yesterday at my local golfsmith that the pice of the v1 went back up from 39.99 to 45.99.

I got a few dozen as a gift so I traded them in for bridgestones.

Pete

This price "jump" has nothing to do with ANY pending, or other, court cases.... PERIOD!

This thread is getting almost UNBELIEVABLE!!! ;)

:)

So they just brought the price back up for no reason? I know it might not pertain to the court case but maybe because titleist didn't do so well last year,(just asking cause I don't know why they did this?) I know they are a manufacturer protected item so this is titleist's doing not the retailers, for anyone that didn't know. I used to work in the golfing industry for a stint and usually never see prices on balls go up.

Pete

I hope the v1 doesn't go away its a good ball for the industry. If titleist is found liable then I hope callaway will settle out of court with them.

Nope! Titleist had a WONDERFUL year, at lest here in Minnesota!!

The Suggested Retail Price for a dozen ProV1's is somewhere around what GG marked them up to. Probably they are trying to make a slight profit for them right now, instead of having them priced at a loss-leader. A manufacturer would not make a retail store charge a max for a product; however, there are many times when there is a MINIMUM ADVERTISED price that the strores have to charge. (Ping does this for clubs. If an account posts a price for some clubs below the minimum, the account can be CLOSED! ... As in stopped, ended, removed, lost, whatever you want to call it!)

The price increase would be coming from Golf Galaxy, or what ever big box retailer we are talking about.