Replacing TM Rac LTs - need guidance

BrexB

Considering X-20s and G10s
I've been playing TM RAC LT irons for about three years. I've always felt that they were a better club than I should be playing since I'm a bit inconsistent with them, with mishits being pretty stingy. I'm currently about a 16 handicap which is several strokes better than a year ago since I played more last year and have been working on my game.

I'm looking for a new set of irons that are better suited to my game and am considering Callaway X-20 and Ping G10 (others?). I haven't had a chance to demo either of them.

I'm not looking for someone to pick my clubs but am curious about how the old LTs will compare to these clubs. FWIW, my swing speed is about 96.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

yea the r7s is a nice choice, they had a very nice soft feel to them and were easy to hit cleanly in my experience

you really need to demo the clubs first to see what you like. i initially thought i would love the x18's but ended up disliking them and loving both the r7s and the callaway x-20 tours and it was a tossup as to which irons to get.

lesson is for me at least to demo first to see what irons jive best with your personal swing style and speed. for example i hit a natural draw so i dont need any draw biased club features. i also hit the ball super high so i dont need any extra offset. it could be the total opposite for you so what works for me may not work for you.....:coolpics:

good luck either way and the r7 and x20s are a great place to start demoing. ive not hit the g10 so i cant comment on those.

I will tell you something:

RACs are players irons and you, my friend, will be much better off with GI irons because of your inconsistent ball striking skills.

For you, i will suggest R7 XD. I have played R7, RAC OS, RAC LT2, even tried R7 TP and Mizzy MP-32. Nothing beats R7 XD in terms of distance and forgiveness.