Question about hitting the ball off the hosel?

Hosel Shot
I have been playing golf for about 10 years off and on. I worked at a Golf Course a couple of years ago and played almost everyday. I took about a year off for some reason and recently started playing a couple months ago. I started hitting the ball off the hosel( causing a NASTY banana ball), something I have never done prior. I would scoot back from the ball a little bit more (weight on the balls of my feet, maybe a little more foward), and would hit the ball as solid as ever. Sometimes I would fall off balance in my followthrough due to backing up a bit more. Is there a certain drill/technique I can do to make sure I'm the same distance from the ball (relative to the club) each time I line up to hit the ball?

On my wedges I feel like im a little far away but strike the ball fine (for the most part). When I see the tour players hit wedges, the shaft seems really close to their legs, even on iron shots.When I put the ball close to me, it comes off the hosel. I'm about 6'1" with pretty long arms, if this helps.

Thanks in adance.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not instructor but when I get lazy and lose concentration, I can also hit hosel rockets with consistency. The problem with me was even though I was focusing on swing the clubhead through the inside quadrant of the golfball, my siwngpath was coming from outside-in. To combat the problem, I make sure that I get a good shoulder turn (especially focusing on the right shoulder). On the downswing, I focus on making the clubhead attack from the inside as it attacks the golfball on its inside quadrant. Hope that helps!

A hosel shot is caused from the clubhead being further away from the body at impact than it was as setup. I've had this problem for years pop up and it can be caused from a number of things:

-Standing too close to the ball (probably not this)