Jump to content

Sawgrass

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    16,683
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Personal Information

  • Location
    Connecticut, USA

Recent Profile Visitors

844 profile views

Sawgrass's Achievements

784

Reputation

  1. Hey, buddy . . . I’m betting you wish you said, “The ball must be dropped into and COME TO REST within the defined relief area.” (Momentary excursions outside are acceptable,)
  2. I’d call all the players who were present and ask B, who is there among them, if he acknowledges he picked up his mark without first replacing his ball, and if he dropped, rather than placed his ball to get it in position. IMO it’s likely that he would tell the truth given the circumstances. If B didn’t acknowledge the facts you presented, I’d ask the other players. If no one saw anything but you (he said/he said) I’d rule in favor of B, despite my concern that he was lying.
  3. I’m sorry that you feel this way. I feel Player A is “that guy,” not the person reporting him. As an aside, next time you might wish to say, “I don’t think you’re allowed to do it that way” (in real time) which might inspire him to check or call a penalty on himself. You at least preserve your later option to enforce the ROG. Having been warned, he has an obligation to look into it.
  4. Here’s my take: A 1sp for violating R9.7b, a 1sp for violating R14.2b(2). IMO these are not related acts, so both penalties count. As to the place ultimately played from, R1.3b(2) absolves player from wrong place penalty for misjudgment as to actual location, assuming it was a reasonable guess on the player’s part.
  5. Bone up on which violations penalize only the player, and which penalize the side.
  6. The Preferred Lies local rule permits substituting since you are placing and not replacing. I believe the Committee can abolish substitution, but the base local rule allows it.
  7. After consultation with the USGA, it’s my understanding that each player is responsible for declaring their correct index and course handicap, but not responsible for the accuracy of allowances (playing handicap). Assuming players declare the appropriate course handicap (or accidentally declare a lower course handicap), any mistakes in applying the allowances are not subject to DQ — if you agree to a match status based on erroneous allowances, you’re stuck with that agreement irrespective of who made the honest error.
  8. I would “fight” myself to concentrate solely on the level of discomfort, and work hard to ignore the concept of which hole is coming up. If you can manage to to that, avoid manipulation, you’re home free. Good luck to you managing your irritating illness.
  9. It is incorrect to state that GUR must be defined as such by the Committee or a ref. Several conditions qualify even if the Committee is silent on the matter. (Not the OP’s condition though.) From the definition: Ground under repair also includes the following things, even if the Committee does not define them as such:
  10. So, maybe half the posters here think it is “bad, awful, illogical” to prohibit solo rounds from being posted, and half think the same about requiring them to be posted. Somewhere in that you might find reason to ease up just a bit on the heavy criticism.
  11. Oh boy. What I meant was that I agree that in the situation you outlined, playing along with someone didn’t have an impact (didn’t matter). But other times it has an impact. So, let’s keep with the new program since it helps sometimes. And you’re blowing smoke about the past 50 years. While it could have been better before, those that followed the rules had a valid handicap — just as those who follow the current rules do. Violate them because of your opinion and you are disrespecting all the other players who abide by a single set of procedures and you don’t have a valid handicap. When you join an international system, you can’t expect everything to be arranged to meet your personal preferences.
  12. Thank you. It was with this understanding that I made my comment in the 7th post of this thread. IMO it is how a scorecard should reflect yardages, it’s easy to make use of when playing.
  13. I agree that the video looks like a violation (unless the caddie was absentmindedly doing something else while standing there with whatever that was in her hands). Have you read the extensive Clarification (which essentially re-writes rather than clarifies the rule)? https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rulesarticles/clarifications-of-the-2019-rules-of-golf.html#rule10 Perhaps no ref was watching and no one on site reported it.
  14. 5.5a provides other examples of a player intending to strike a ball, but it not being a stroke or a practice stroke. For instance, hitting a stray range ball back to the range for the purpose of cleaning up the course.
×
×
  • Create New...