Jump to content

kurob

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    546
  • Joined

  • Last visited

kurob's Achievements

0

Reputation

  1. Sorry for the Inbox issue...ClubWRX expired and my quota went waaaaaay down. Unfortunately do not have the headcover.
  2. Titleist 716 AP2 iron set (4-PW). Very good shape, most wear on the 7i and PW, faces pictured. Standard length and loft, 1* upright, DG TI x100 shafts. New gray GP MCC Plus 4 grips, installed logo down. $630. Titleist 915 Hd 20.5*. Never hit, bought for the shaft. Head only or shafted. Stock Aldila Black stiff in it with an paint scrape on the shaft, doesn't affect play. $SOLD for head only (preferred), add $5 to cover extra shipping if you want me to throw in the shaft. Purple Nike Dri-Fit polo in size Medium. Tee prize that I got an extra of, golf course logo on the breast, tournament logo on the right sleeve. $25. All prices shipped and PayPal'd and relatively firm.
  3. If he grounded his putter too firmly, too close to the ball physics would dictate that that action would cause the ball to move toward the putter. In the absence of the putter touching the ball, I think it's clearly more likely that DJ didn't cause the ball to move. But reasonable minds can disagree on that, I suppose. The bolded is kindof a problem, though. We're trying to make a precise ruling using an imprecise rule while using information (HD, zoomed, slo-mo video) that we don't have for every putt played during the championship.
  4. Look, I will not sit idly by while you downplay Dustin Johnson's command of physics, which is unquestioned.
  5. I agree with you. But I do think they could make the rule read differently on the putting surface such that players are only penalized if it's virtually certain that they caused it to move. Would have the rule keep up with modern green speeds. Before yesterday I didn't think such a rule adjustment was necessary, but now I've changed my mind.
  6. I agree with you, but I'm the guy that would have never signed at Whistling Straits until they showed me plans of the 18th to prove I was in a bunker and not just on trampled down sand. Our great game of golf just showed itself as the only sport that doesn't know the score in the 4th quarter. Really bad day for the sport. Sadly, at the PGA that year there were signs posted and on the local rules sheet for the event that said where his ball was was to be considered a bunker, not a waste area. Sadly, that mistake was on him.. When the tournament went back there last year it was reported they played the same rule and even had signs above the urinals to make sure everyone knew the rul. By Sunday afternoon there, it was getting hard to tell the difference between waste/bunker areas and gallery trampled grass if you didn't have the benefit of a lip. DJ could have played it safe and not grounded his club, for sure, but to this day I don't think it's obvious whether he was inside or outside the intent of a bunker there. It's possible they got it right, but it's not certain (to me). But yeah, the USGA ruling yesterday was far worse in every way except impacting the outcome.
  7. I agree with you, but I'm the guy that would have never signed at Whistling Straits until they showed me plans of the 18th to prove I was in a bunker and not just on trampled down sand. Our great game of golf just showed itself as the only sport that doesn't know the score in the 4th quarter. Really bad day for the sport.
  8. If he had, we would be watching golf tomorrow. No chance. He took the penalty after barely watching the video, because it didn't matter. If he'd have taken a stand, said he didn't cause it to move, and signed for a 4...nobody on the rules committee would have had the stones to explain to the world that the guy that won by 4 is DQ'd due to difference of opinion. I mean, the USGA looks like a complete clown show for a stroke that ultimately didn't matter. Imagine then...changing the outcome.
  9. [quote name='BrianL99' timestamp='1432983859' post='11655018'] Player A & C are close by in the fairway and A asks B: "What do you have to the Pin"? C answers with a legitimate distance to the Pin (disregards the fact that his DMD also gives him slope). [i]Alternatively, C answers with a distance that considers "slope" (if that makes a difference in the application of the rules).[/i] The "distance information" received by A is legal, as it's a "matter of public information", however it was obtained from an "illegal device". [/quote] I don't have a strong opinion on how this shakes in via the rules, but the slope adjusted distance doesn't feel like "public information" to me.
  10. [quote name='mark m' timestamp='1432601241' post='11625482'] It's a gimmicky format. It's just too hard to handicap scrambles unless the players are first put into a flight (or an allowable handicap range) and then teams are formed from there. You cannot have teams of 2 scratch (or better) players competing against against a couple of high handicaps. It simply cannot be made fair with any handicap system. Also, as you mentioned, one man scrambles do tend to have a big problem with slow play. You have to address this up front, encourage speedy play, and [b]often the rules state that you can hit a second ball but [u]must[/u] play it if you do.[/b] It better be a small field event or forget about it. Some guys want a "do over" and create these formats. . . you don't get second chances in golf. Embrace it. Seize the day! [/quote] That's the way to do it. We have an E-9 gambling game that's similar where higher handicaps get unlimited mulligans but if they take it they MUST use it. This gives them lots of short game advantages (they get to hit every short putt twice), but makes them really think about it when they hit a mediocre first one on a full shot and especially on approaches.
  11. [quote name='360_CS' timestamp='1431670786' post='11562444'] How many other things does Scott copy? [/quote] He's switching to a short putter. TIGER USES A SHORT PUTTER!!!!!!!
  12. I just had a 10 minute debate with myself over whether that putter is worth having the locks to my house changed on me. It's close.
  13. I just won't trade with someone that doesn't have reasonable (double digit-ish) feedback. I've only traded on here a couple of times, but so far so good. The highest dollar amount trade was a set of AP2 (from me) for a couple of Camerons (from him) and it worked out fine.
×
×
  • Create New...