Jump to content

rogolf

Advanced Members
  • Content Count

    5,268
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

657 Excellent

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. And what, in your opinion is he "in charge" of wrt to the Rules of golf? I don't know if he is even certified under the Rules of golf.
  2. Agree. The optimum tee times to accomplish the most rounds completed in a reasonable time (less than 4:30) is 8/9 minutes alternated. The role of the course should be to get the golfers off the course in a reasonable time (4:15 or less imo), not to get the max number of players on the course and forget how long they are taking. Proper customer service, imo, would be how many groups finish in less that 4:15.
  3. But, it's usual that the "winner" of the flip goes first, ie, is not given a choice.
  4. "Known" is very clear - there is no doubt. "Virtually certain" leaves a small amount (5%) of doubt. When I am refereeing, I insist that the 95% certainty is met, it's a very high standard for a reason - there is usually a significant advantage gained by the player. I will ask myself and the player, "Could the ball be anywhere else?" Rough surrounding the penalty area means the ball could be somewhere else and I'll decide that the ball is not in the penalty area, but is lost. Of course, there are different heights and types of rough, so each situation is slightly different. To sum up,
  5. If a referee is present and cannot clearly determine who is away, the referee will toss a coin to decide. The coin toss will decide who plays first - the referee will assign heads to one player, tails to the other. If the coin comes up heads, that player must play first.
  6. Yes, he's in a whole heap of trouble! If not dq, strokes yet to be determined.
  7. That may be the situation if he does not correct the wrong ball issue before playing from the next tee. However, if it is not known or virtually certain (must be determined within three minutes of searching) that the original ball is in the penalty area, the only applicable Rule for the dropped ball is stroke and distance (18.1) and he has played from a wrong place (Rule 14.7). If there is a serious breach of the Rules, he must correct that error by playing from the right place- where he played his second shot from the fairway. We don't know anything about E-5 (which is not applicable t
  8. Not only that, the dropped ball was dropped in a wrong place (correct place is where he played his second shot from the fairway) and was likely a serious breach due to distance gained. This needs to be corrected by returning to the place where he had played the second shot, and a two stroke penalty. If this is not corrected before playing from the next tee, he is dq'd. Now the question is about playing the wrong ball - the original ball. I would suggest that those two penalty strokes do not "disappear" when he is correcting the wrong place issue.
  9. Here is what it says in the Official Guide to the Rules of golf, page 386, Status of Penalty Area May Differ Depending on the Teeing Area Used Where carrying the ball over a penalty area, such as a pond on a par 3, is part of the challenge of a hole from the back tee but not from the forward tee, the Committee may decide to define it with yellow stakes or a yellow line and use a Local Rule to the effect that the area is a red penalty area when played from the forward tee.
  10. There are some "things" here that don't meet the Rules - the Rules do not identify a "marshall", but do identify a referee. And the penalty for more than 14 clubs is two strokes for each of the holes where a breach occurred, with a maximum of four penalty strokes, two each at the first two holes where there was a breach, so holes 1 and 2 in your case. It does pay to know the Rules. And in response to nsxguy, imo, leaving a club out of a bag, but in the cart, does not not satisfy the "other clear action" part of Rule 4.1c. Again, imo, there are very few "get out of jail free cards"
  11. And thank you for the honest feedback, glad your friend is okay.
  12. The Rules were correctly applied, you began with more than 14 clubs (and it does not matter whether the club(s) were in your bag or not). It does pay to know the Rules, you might have been saved this: 4.1c(2) Before Round. If a player becomes aware shortly before starting a round that he or she accidentally has more than 14 clubs, the player should try to leave the excess club or clubs behind. But as an option without penalty: The player may take any such excess clubs out of play before the start of the round, using the procedure in (1), and The exces
  13. So, if I started with 10 clubs and adjusted my driver once to a different loft, I would then have 11 clubs and not be in a penalty situation? Imo, the restriction on club adjustment has nothing to do with the limit of 14 clubs. And further, the penalties are different for having more than 14 clubs and for making a stroke with a club that was adjusted during the round.
  14. The nearest point of complete relief provides the required relief and that point may be entire relief area. Obviously that would be a very rare occurrence. The one club-length from the nearest point of complete relief is not guaranteed to be available.
  15. Agree. Presuming that the picture is taken in the direction of play, the nearest point of complete relief for the left-handed stroke would be further to the left of the original spot. Further, since, imo, the right-handed stroke is not unreasonable, there would be no free relief for the left-handed stroke.
×
×
  • Create New...