Jump to content

Halebopp

Advanced Members
  • Content Count

    3,126
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

266 Excellent

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Maximum Handicap Index is 54, a player could easily have a Course Handicap north of 54 resulting in getting 4 strokes on a given hole and a Net Double Bogey of 11 on a par 5.
  2. Yes, the player is responsible for figuring out whether or not the person is a member of the Competition Committee and, ultimately, the player is also expected to know the rules himself/herself.
  3. Fixed wheel has never been an issue on my ClicGear 3.0. Like it has been mentioned, I can park it sideways on a hill without a worry or send it down a hill on its own. The fixed wheel is also usually bigger than any swivel wheel so it rolls over bumps and through rough much more easily than a small wheel, never mind one that wants to turn on its own. And I bought my ClicGear 3.0 used in early 2014 and there's no end in sight for it.
  4. If the ball moves 5-10 seconds after letting go of it, you need to play it as it lies (or take other available relief) as the ball had come to rest where you placed it as it was indeed moved by natural forces and you can prefer your lie only once.
  5. The EGA system handed all beginners a handicap index of 54. The new WHS way of not giving one right away has been problematic because the tee-time booking systems can't comprehend players without a handicap, they assume it's equal to scratch and therefore the beginners would be free to book tee times as the wish. Most clubs have handicap limits for each group, at our club it's 108, so you can only have two beginners playing together in the same group but scratch and plus golfers could join them. Naturally the club staff can make exceptions (like allowing families who started to play together t
  6. After suffering from the hosel rockets last Wednesday, I loaded my bag with some of the worse balls in my stash for the round yesterday. After hitting a tee-picker on a par 5, I was surprised to find out the ball I thought had been abandoned on the course was actually mine and it had come up way short of where it was supposed to be. But it quickly became clear why. My own ruling was that the ball had broken into pieces as there was a part of the core missing (the cavity at top right, I'm assuming Nike didn't make balls that way) and jogged back to the tee with the group waiting on the tee look
  7. Using the word "to" in the sentence is the same as saying "in order to", meaning the deviations would've been specifically written to create the confusion.
  8. While I was also drawn to 10.2 (but it was past my bedtime so I didn't dig up the rule), 8.2 does seem to cover the same issue because the wind would be affecting the place where the ball might go and come to rest after a stroke.
  9. The rule conserned with preparing for and making a stroke.
  10. Thanks for the link, Dave! That's an interesting read, or, should I say, browse through.
  11. One, more difficult ruling I came across several times in the first events I worked in was players assuming a ball was lost in a Penalty Area (or Water Hazard as it was back then) but finding the original ball outside of it after having taken relief from the PA. Those cases happened in junior events so they had the brains to call me. Yesterday I got a call from our club about the same situation (I wasn't working as a RO but the club can call me when needed), in this case the player managed to get himself DQ'd for taking relief, then finding the original ball and picking up the subs
  12. If I knew the course was empty in front of the two groups ahead and they caught up to us on the front nine, we'd be inclined to let them play through. Even if the groups ahead won't let them through, I believe our group is better off as the twosome is likely to finish each hole before we get to our approach shots and therefore we only need to wait on the tee as opposed to having to wait on the tee and then on the fairway for the foursome to finish each hole.
  13. The committee is required to investigate any possible breaches brought to their attention. And because the competition hasn't finished yet, they're free to apply any penalties they see fit. Had the competition closed, their options would be more limited.
  14. Not reported as in the penalty strokes weren't included in the scores? Did both of them know about the breach when the scorecard was returned? In case neither, the player nor the marker knew about it, the player is penalised two strokes on the first two holes for a total of four strokes (in Stableford four points would be deducted from the total score for the round). In case the player knew about it, he/she is disqualified and if the marker was also aware of it, he/she is also DQ'd.
  15. I doubt anyone disagrees with that and, like Bean already commented, I wasn't saying I wouldn't grant relief if everything about the stroke seemed reasonable. Think about it this way. You have a certain stance, swing, club and direction of play you'd prefer for each and every stroke that you believe will produce the best possible outcome given the circumstances. Why would those parameters of the stroke suddenly change if we introduced a grate a couple of inches away from the heel of your back foot? You are changing your shot selection to a worse one only to get your foot onto the
×
×
  • Create New...