Jump to content

Halebopp

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    3,212
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Halebopp

  1. No, the Ruling Bodies explicitly stated such a local rule is not allowed. You could either declare bunkers to be GUR or allow Preferred Lies inside bunkers.
  2. You can tell them the distance to the front of the green, which is usually some 20 metres less and a 180-metre shot sounds very different. You might also point out that any time you save now would mean an equally longer wait on the next tee. Thirdly, another player in the group, who lies 40 metres closer to the hole, is going to wait for the green to clear anyway, so you hitting right away might only save half a minute. Fourthly, you can suggest the others could go ahead and play their shots first if they're not going for the green.
  3. We haven't had any issues at our club over the past two seasons with the WHS. Naturally the winning net scores have gone down slightly because handicaps move up a lot faster than they used to with the 0.1-stroke increments while the pace at which they drop has slowed down. Winning scores in competitions have been around 36-42 points.
  4. You have to give them credit when credit is due. Their marker doesn't require removing and replacing the ball and the ball-marker several times to get both of the lines right.
  5. I have to say I'm not certain of the ball lying off the ground. But, in my opinion those Interpretations only tell us that the bush is a part of the relief area, not that the bush would be considered a part of the ground. 14.3c(2)/2 specifically separates a bush from the ground:
  6. I find your last comment contradictory. Stating that something shouldn't be done doesn't mean you're not allowed to do so. Certainly it would've been very easy for the RBs to write it's not allowed rather than not recommended. "The use of this Local Rule outside the fairway in the general area is not recommended..."
  7. Augster is correct: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3d Exception – When There Is No Reasonable Chance Ball Will Come to Rest in Relief Area: If a ball dropped in the right way is deliberately deflected or stopped (whether in the relief area or outside the relief area) when there is no reasonable chance it will come to rest in the relief area: There is no penalty to any player, and The dropped ball is treated as having come to rest outside the relief area and counts as one of the two drops required before a ball must be placed under Rule 14.3c(2).
  8. Do you want to be the one deciding what qualifies as a significant advantage and how much of of the foreign material you can have on the face and where can it be placed? Or whether or not it was left there purposefully? The rule is very simple and easy to abide by at the moment. You'd be opening a huge can of worms if the line was drawn anywhere else.
  9. There's no difference. Lead tape on the face of the club is also illegal. And they're both legal anywhere else on the club head* as long as the sticker is semi permanent (removing it would break it). *With certain requirements that need to be met.
  10. The triple tracks seem to be separate entries so you can't switch from a regular one to a triple track. But you can switch from a normal yellow Chrome Soft to a yellow Truvis as long as they're otherwise the same version. https://www.usga.org/ConformingGolfBall/gball_list.pdf
  11. Are you suggesting that there's an authorised local rule allowing players to rake a bunker and then place a ball on the raked area? I hope not because there's no such thing.
  12. The two-person scrambles at our club were won by net scores ranging from 59 to 63 with none of the winning sides getting more than nine strokes. In the few four-person scrambles the winning scores were net 55-56 with the sides getting 1-6 strokes. In open singles competitions, net stroke play flights tended to be won with scores ranging from -5 to +1 whereas the Stableford flight was oftentimes won with a score of 44 but some were won even with 36 points. The WHS did make handicap indices move up at a much faster rate while slowing down the pace at which they move down so it's only natural the net scores got better but that's across the field. 30 points isn't quite what it used to be. So, while that 44 might sound egregious, it's not nearly as bad as it used to be.
  13. As in did the switch to the WHS affect participation in competitions? No, not one bit and I can't see why it would have.
  14. While drop zones shouldn't be placed on the green side of penalty areas, or other such treacherous places, such arrangements aren't that uncommon. Especially when even the most forward tees would require you to play over the area. You'll find more information in the Committee Procedures under marking the course for general play.
  15. Your national association has the data and should be able to provide the WHS indices for each hole.
  16. It's right there in the book: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-21#21-3 Like said, it's essentially match play against the course with stroke-play rules. You set a target score (par, net par, 6, double par, what ever) and see how many times you beat the score and how many times you lose to it. Subtract losses from the wins and you got yourself a score.
  17. For the second time, yes, Mudguard is wrong.
  18. The Rules of Golf do require the hole to be on the putting green. (Definition of Hole.)
  19. Generally speaking the group ahead should have the right of way, even when they're visiting a wrong fairway. After all, it's pointless for you to make them wait for you only for you to end up waiting because of the delay you caused to the group(s) ahead. Regardless of who was ahead though, there's absolutely no reason to wait for the green to clear on the fairway of another hole when someone's playing that particular hole.
  20. There's no requirement to mark the reference point even though it's recommended. Therefore you can just make a mental note of it. But if you failed to also do that, then yes, it would be a bad drop.
  21. The only question of importance is, "did the ball come to rest within the relief area"? The reference point which determines the front edge of the relief area is the point where the ball is assumed to be lost or crossed the OB margin for E-5. For Back-on-the-Line relief (Penalty Areas and Unplayable Balls) it's the point the player chooses, or if left unchosen, the point in which the ball first touched the ground. For E-5, the ball could travel a hundred meters towards the hole as long as the ball was dropped at least a hundred meters behind the reference point. In the other extreme, for BotL relief when the player doesn't choose a reference point, the ball cannot move an inch closer to the hole than where it first hit the ground. (Unless the MLR E-12 is in effect.)
  22. Here's another one: http://www.clicgear.com/pushcarts/model-6+/
  23. You said the player dropped the ball and then you found the original ball. You didn't say anything about the player making a stroke at the substituted ball. If he did make a stroke at the ball, it's a completely different situation. In that case there's a two-stroke (general) penalty for playing from a wrong place and, as it's a serious breach, the player needs to return to the tee to play his 5th stroke. If the alternative relief option for Stroke & Distance was in use, it comes with a two-stroke penalty in itself, rather than one, and then we'd need to figure out whether or not the player used reasonable judgment to determine where the original ball was lost. If he did so, there are no other penalties. In case he didn't, it would be a serious breach of playing from a wrong place and the player would be penalised two strokes and would need to play again from the correct place (from the relief area determined by the found ball). In that case the player would be playing his 6th stroke.
  24. The player may correct the mistake without a penalty as he hadn't made a stroke at the substituted ball yet. Rule 14.5. Did you find the ball within the three-minute search time? If you did, the player is required to continue play with the original ball without any penalties. In case you didn't, the ball was lost and the player was required to use Stroke & Distance relief and return to the tee to play his 3rd stroke. If the local rule for alternative relief for a lost ball, or a ball out of bounds was in use, the player would've needed to correct the error and use the original ball's location as the reference point and take relief accordingly, hitting his 4th stroke, or return to the tee to play his 3rd.
×
×
  • Create New...