Jump to content

Colin L

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    2,826
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Personal Information

  • Location
    Edinburgh

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

Colin L's Achievements

333

Reputation

  1. The main evidence would be the amount of sand displaced by the foot above it. How would you account for the sand moving over the ball without exerting any sideways, downhill pressure? I have no confidence in a search yielding a result. What would be your reference point on which to base the judgment?
  2. I guess we just have a very different idea of the movement of sand. I just can't visualise an avalanche of sand that is confined to a layer that somehow slides over the ball without moving it rather than being a body of sand which moves downhill, taking the ball with it. I can't see either how once the movement is over and you uncover the ball you can have any sort of reference point against which to judge whether the location of the ball has changed. The OP just needed to hope for a lucky as to who turned up to give him a ruling, Mr Nice American rather than Mr Mean Old Scot.
  3. The OP has brought. down a bucket load of sand with his size 10s on top of a ball lying on a slope on sand and you think it feasible that the ball hasn't moved? And how, in practical terms are you going to establish anything by uncovering the ball? The presumption when a ball is stood on on ordinary ground is that it has moved at least vertically. That seems a greater assumption than this.
  4. That was my take too. I don't think there can be any doubt the ball was moved. It could be that stroke and distance is the best way out depending on the circumstances of the previous shot.. Out of the bunker for one stroke, no hassle of recreating the lie or risk of the "landslip" happening again.
  5. The R&A/USGA beat you to it. Model Local Rule E-5 which was introduced in 2019 is entitled Alternative to Stroke and Distance for Lost Ball or Ball Out of Bounds and allows you to do pretty well what you are asking for, albeit at a cost of 2 penalty strokes. One stroke would be ridiculous. The Local Rule is intended for recreational golf. It's long and unnecessarily complicated but essentially what it does is it allow you to play from the fairway not nearer the hole to where your ball went out of bounds or was lost. The 2 stroke penalty makes it the equivalent cost to stroke and distance but in a guaranteed good place to play from. I don't know about elsewhere in the world, but you won't find it being implemented in competitions even at club level in Great Britain and Ireland.
  6. To be more accurate, the side would be disqualified if one of the players declared too high a handicap and got more strokes than he should.
  7. I don't get this. What has a scorecard got to do with matchplay other than being a useful aide-memoire for the stroke index and, if your memory is anything like mine, a handy place to keep a note of the state of the match? A player would be disqualified only if he declared a wrong handicap and that resulted in his receiving more strokes than he should have had as Dave has said. What the pro or anyone else wrote on a card has no bearing on the matter at all. Also, your playing handicap in a fourball is the difference between 90% of your course handicap and that of the lowest handicapped player.
  8. Normally, if you know or are virtually certain your ball is in a penalty area, you can't play a provisional ball. That's because you have to proceed under Rule 17.1d with its various options. If, however, a particular penalty area meets the following conditions, MLR B3 allows you exceptionally to play a provisional ball: - the area is such that if you can't find your ball outside the PA it must be in it (for example where the ground around It is closely mown and your ball would be clearly visible on it); - you can't tell whether your ball has gone in it or not until you get to the far side; and - it would be very time consuming to have players to go back to take relief if it turned out the ball was in the PA. The ball under this Local Rule is played provisionally in case your original ball is in the penalty area. Consequently all the relief options for a ball in a penalty area are available. Does that make sense?
  9. It doesn’t read that way as variously explained above. With the greatest respect for your outstanding command of English, I do wonder if there’s some aspect of the wording that is catching you out. The explanations are all there.
  10. That helps, but the sad truth is it's because of trying to impress my grandchildren.
  11. The Rules certainly refer to multiplicity of tee markers in 6.1b A player must start each hole by playing a ball from anywhere inside the teeing area under Rule 6.2b. If a player who is starting a hole plays a ball from outside the teeing area (including from a wrong set of tee markers for a different teeing location on the same hole or a different hole): They are clearly the objects used to mark all possible teeing areas on the course. My home course has four measured courses which means we have 144 tee markers. I'm not sure where that takes us, mind you.
  12. And that would be the only rule-based justification for the decision.
×
×
  • Create New...