Jump to content

BobHatcher

Members
  • Content Count

    74
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thanks, Stanks, I was a part time resident of NH for forty years and have been here full time for fifteen. It's the best place I've ever lived. Truly four seasons with lots of golf, skiing, hiking and cycling. I'll check on the durability. I've been playing it now for a week and they seem to be holding up well. I always felt that ProV1 had durability issues in that it discolors quickly. I'm now playing yellow balls because my eyesight is fading and it's easier to see. It's also much less likely someone else will hit my ball!
  2. Thanks for the input. I LOVE the soft feel off the putter. Last night in the league, playing from the same tees and hitting it flush it ended up in a bunker I'm pretty sure I would have cleared otherwise. But, I like the ball and the feel so will play out the two dozen (I don't lose a lot of balls so it'll take me the rest of the year.) Bob
  3. I've been playing Pro V1 and got two dozen Z-Star for Father's Day (they had a two for one special). I absolutely LOVE the Z-Star. It feels softer of the club than the ProV1 and even feels better on the putter. BUT, My drives seem to be 10-15 yards shorter. Can this be for real? Both balls have similar construction. Anyone else notice this? TIA. Bob in New Hampshire, GHIN=8.0, swing speed with drive = around 95
  4. PinHigh, the players are members and have already paid a huge fee to play the course for the year. So, the cost of the round is not a factor. A bigger question to everyone is whether you think the club should look at member events as a profit center. Treating your members as you would some group coming off the street who haven't already made a huge commitment is unfair. IMHO members are one of the best advertising and promotional tools available and should be given special consideration. But, then, I'm a member, not an owner.
  5. Thanks, guys. I appreciate it. Rory thinks 1st place should get 2x the entry fee and Dave thinks 10x. We had no say over it and the club decided to pay out for only the top TWO places and paid 2.25 the entry fee for 1st place and 1.25x the entry fee for second. I think they thought of it as a profit-making event. Our point to management is that the club should not try to make a profit on this event.
  6. I'm a "member" at a public golf course and on the tournament committee. For our club championships (match play), I am wondering what your experience is for payouts. We've allocated so much for the dinner afterward but I'm wondering how much should go to first and second place. For example, of the 100% allocated toward prizes, how much for first, second, and how deep should the payouts go given that only about 30 people will play. Traditionally there is no trophy or another prize, just pro-shop credit. Also, at a public course should we expect the course to "pitch in" a bit given the prize
  7. I have a set of hickory-shafted clubs from the 30s (I think) and want to display them in my man-cave. What's the best way to do that? Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks, Bob
  8. Yes, it is an Eagle. Hopefully, the first of many
  9. Clearly, you have to drop, and then you'd be dealing with the slope of the green so the ball is likely to go the same place as if you putted it. At my course we have one green that is lightning fast with a severe slope and it happens frequently that a putt from above the hole rolls off the green. What most of us do is to putt 90deg so the ball barely gets moving and you've not imparted any force toward the hole so all you have is gravity. It's still hard to keep it on the green. We've lobbied with the Sup to let the grass grow a bit on that green to no avail.
  10. You are allowed to turn in another card as long as the marker attests to it. However, this must be done before the close of competition.
  11. Of course, it is the Etiquette section I was remembering. In officiating a 4-ball event last year, I did have to mention to one team that they couldn't have one guy directly behind the player.
  12. I am familiar with 14-2b, but that talks about the player accepting assistance. I thought there was a decision regarding whether a competitor can position himself there, and thereby incur a penalty. Maybe I was dreaming!
  13. "A competitor, who has a similar putt, stands on the line directly behind a fellow competitor as he putts to see how much break he must play" I always thought the answer to this was NO. But, I am looking at the MGA 2016 sample exam and question 20 indicate that it is not a violation. If it is, can you cite a rule or decision? TIA, Bob
  14. You said 'the last thing I want is to see refs calling infractions' and I said that the Rules REQUIRE a referee to act on any breach he sees or is brought to him. I am not sure that the rules require a referee to act. Can you point to a rule or decision? Certainly the guidelines (for example "The Principles Behind the Rules of Golf") for being an on-course official recommend that, but I don't think it's in the rule book.
  15. Referees frequently do help a player prevent penalties. A good rules official in that situation would have said to Tiger "That's not a legal drop because it's not as near as possible..." and then Tiger could have re-dropped without penalty. Drop situations are probably the most frequent type of offical/player interaction.
×
×
  • Create New...