Jump to content

Axiom

Members
  • Posts

    43
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

Axiom's Achievements

3

Reputation

  1. So would he be lying 3, the same as the provisional, or would there also be a penalty stroke under 17.1, and play the hole out with the dropped ball?
  2. Yes, there were two questions. When and how to play the provisional back on the line and laterally. You've given a pretty good example of back on the line. Edit: As a secondary question, if the player played a provisional ball from the tee when he gets to where he thinks his ball might be, he sees it in the lateral hazard, but decides not to play it. Instead he drops and plays a ball under 17.1d(3). What is the ruling?
  3. This is the second paragraph of Model Local Rule B3: In playing the provisional ball, the player may use the stroke-and-distance relief option (see Rule 17.1d(1), the back-on-the-line relief option (see Rule 17.1d(2)) or, if it is a red penalty area, the lateral relief option (see Rule 17.1d(3)). If a dropping zone (see Model Local Rule E-1) is available for this penalty area, the player may also use that relief option. I'm unclear as to how a player would play a provisional under 17.1d(2) of 17.1d(3). What would be the situation and procedure?
  4. But 4.1c(1) second bullet point states: Wouldn't his return of the club qualify as taking the borrowed putter out of play?
  5. Or: "I'll give you the next one."
  6. Even though Dave has answered the question to Augster's satisfaction, it is interesting to speculate whether the ball dropped under E-5 should be abandoned once the original ball is found within the 3 minute search time. IMO since E-5 replaces the need to play under 18.2, the principle that once a ball is dropped to take relief under stroke and distance the original ball cannot be played, then the same principle would apply to E-5.
  7. Good examples, especially the 10 minute ball search. No one seems to know how to use the timer on their ubiquitous smart phone.
  8. It does lead to the question: what do you do if a player decides to ignore your ruling and proceed incorrectly?
  9. When the old men tell you to eff off, how do you respond?
  10. For those of you who referee during non-club tournaments, what are the common rulings you are asked to make? In other words, what are the common questions players have of you as a referee?
  11. Actually, the 2016-17 Decisions dealt with this type of situation so it might have applied when you made your stroke. The result is the same as Colin describes, although the Decision was based on equity.
  12. Exactly. If that wouldn't work, depending on the slope of the ground, perhaps dropping close to the edge of the relief area, so the ball lands in the relief area and then rolls out, could also be an option. More than one option is usually available.
  13. Another procedure might be to drop closer to the edge of the penalty area so the ball then rolls into the penalty area - make sure someone is there to stop it before it becomes lost. After two unsuccessful drops you may place and presumably your stance could then be outsides the penalty area, depending on your direction of play and whether you're right or left handed.
  14. I agree that the wording leaves us hanging. Sawgrass said: A player might reasonably believe that he could replace the ball in correcting his mistake, not play the ball, and then proceed correctly under 17.1 for only one penalty stroke.
  15. An interesting question from another site. What are your thoughts? Also see 14.2/1.
×
×
  • Create New...