Just wanted to talk about the importance of 'Using the Ground' in the swing. I have been focusing on trying to use the ground and it really helps. Not only does it help with power, but if you utilize Rory's "Power Squat," focusing on pushing off the ground really helps you get back to square and make good contact. I was actually hitting straighter shots when I really focused on pushing off. Honestly, my knee feels a little sore from doing this, probably due to semi-weak Glute muscles.

Now I'm no Scratch Golfer, but my ball striking is excellent and does not reflect in my scores. Does this move help anyone else?

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I think all of the confusion and people getting in front of the ball is over a topic many would call semantics and it's not.   I have been using this language for a couple of years. It's a shift in p

Also, you can think of it as pushing into the ground and not pushing off the ground. That slight difference helps some.

Something worth mentioning.....The pressure shift left starts early...earlier than you think for most people...once you feel most pressure shift into your trail heel you should start reversing course.

I know it is the right move, but when I try and push off, for some reason, I cannot stay behind the ball. My upper body seems to want to move forward and I come over the top. I am working hard on keeping my right elbow in on the downswing.

Callaway Rogue 10.5* Driver
Callaway Rogue 3 Wood
Callaway Rogue 5 wood
Callaway 4/5 Hybrid
Callaway Apex 6-GW
Callaway Mack Daddy 52/56 Wedge
Scotty Cameron Monterey

I know it is the right move, but when I try and push off, for some reason, I cannot stay behind the ball. My upper body seems to want to move forward and I come over the top. I am working hard on keeping my right elbow in on the downswing.