2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

"Old Man's" Shoes?

I recall someone mentioning in another thread that saddles or wingtips are "old man's" shoes. What's so bad about saddles or wingtips? To me they look far better than bicycle toes, K-Swiss style or George Jetson shoes. I started playing golf in 1990 and nearly everybody's golf shoes were either saddles or wingtips. Maybe I am conservative and stuck in the '90's, but today's shoes designs simply don't look as good or classy like a nice pair of FootJoy Classics. Today's young golfers may want to consider a nice pair of saddles instead of the Adizero, as the former is a more elegant look instead of the "cool" look from the latter.

Aside from saddles or wingtips, what are other examples of "old man's" shoes? For me, the only thing that may qualify as "old man's" shoes are the ones with kilties, as you never see then anymore on the course. Saddles and wingtips I don't see as often as I did twenty years ago, but I thought until now that you can never go wrong with a nice pair of them.

What are your thoughts on what qualifies as "old man's" shoes?

• Replies 187
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You never can tell can you? Just like cars. The cars that manufactures figured kids would drive are all being driven by older folks. The Kia Hamster car, Scion XB, Honda Element er, Elderment are just examples. The old guys I golf with wear Adidas Adi Zeros, Sketchers, or Callaways that look like tennis shoes. The kids wear saddles, or at least a middle of the road athletic looking golf shoe. The only older guys I see wearing wingtips these days also have perfectly pleated pants and staff bags, but they're in a league of their own...