Lighter, Stiffer, and Lower Torque Shaft?

sigbang

I am a player hits the driver about 250 yards in carry distance. Based of the chart (http://www.golfwrx.c...ng-speed-chart/) My swing speed is about 100-106 mph. I have used a stiff flex shaft. Originally, this plan came from my desire to use X-stiff shafts, but I think my swing speed is not enough to go for it.

So I became curious about swing speed vs shaft weight. Theoretically, I can swing faster with lighter shaft based on Physics if everything else is fixed, but I will lose consistency of my swing. Also, I can get lower spin rate with lower torque, but I will lose some forgiveness and feels. I decided to ignore those disadvantages and to start this experiment.

I am preparing several shafts that I have picked among the major shaft brands (Aerotech, Aldila, Basileus, Crazy,Design Tuning, Fire Express, Fujikura, Geotech, Grafalloy, Graftech, Graphite Design, jBEAM, Mitsubishi Rayon, LOOP, Matrix, Muziik, NGS, Paderson, Project X, Roddio, Severn Dreamers, TRPX, UST Mamiya, Waccine Compo, XCaliber).

I selected the shafts based on the lowest torque spec on each weight that I might handle on my driver swing (My current shaft is 67.5g, 3.7 deg torque, Stiff). If any of you knows a shaft that is stiffer and lower torque on the same or less weight shaft in the list, let me know. I will test with Titleist 917D3 head and Surefit CG weight kit to vary the head weight as well.

If the speed is king, I think lighter is better. Am I missing something critical?

I think you may be putting too much faith in shafts. In my experience they are a tweak in terms of total distance.

For me they affect dispersion, feel and consistency more.

Have you been on a good launch monitor?

Based on the chart you link to you already carry it close to the optimum.

I would check the Trackman optimiser charts to see what you need to achieveto go further.

Mavrik Fuji Pro

G410/Epic Flash/Fli Hi Hybrids/woods
PXG Gen3 irons
Cleveland wedges