I suck at putting- Lessons, videos, training aids?? All of the above?

pldbryan

I am currently an 8 handicap and have decided by far the biggest area for improvement in my game is with the flat stick. I have read through all sorts of topics and still can not decide on best path forward. For regular swing help, I think lessons are the best route, hands down. But what about putting.

Does an in person lesson bring the same benefits as a full swing lesson, should I follow some of the online videos or do I invest in some putting aids and practice with them regularly, or is it a combo for all of the above.

What helped you take a big step forward in your putting game???

If it helps, my misses seem to be leaving putts short or just straight missing it left or right.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm a little biased because I am a teaching pro, but I do think putting lessons can be extremely valuable if you get a good instructor. They're actually my favorite kind of lesson to give because they can lower scores quicker than anything.

Online video lessons can be good, but they also aren't super personal. Everyone's swing is different and, I believe, there isn't a one-size-fits-all approach to the golf swing...there are a lot of putting strokes that can work great.

Sometimes I think we make putting too complicated. Putting is just aim and speed, so I'd focus on those two skills. Get some sort of laser that you can put on your putter face to make sure you're aiming where you're intending to aim. Then, spend time lag putting with a ladder drill (5ft, 10ft, 15ft, 20ft, etc.).

Doesn't matter what you're swing looks like. If it's comfortable and you can consistently line the putter face up correctly and lag it the correct distance...you'll be a better putter. That just takes repetition.

[b]twitter:[/b] [url="http://twitter.com/ericpeytongolf"]@ericpeytongolf[/url]