My Titleist Tour Soft vs Chrome Soft review...

bogeypro

I’ll be the first one to say it… Why would I pay $35 dollars for a 2 piece ball? Hopefully, this review will help you decide whether or not these 2 piece Tour Soft balls live up the price.

A little about me:

I’m a +1.5 handicap that relies on driving and short game. I get to play almost every day. My driver swing speed is 107 to 109 with about 275 carry. I hit my 8 iron 155. I’ve been playing the Callaway Chrome soft exclusively for over 2 years. Before that I played the regular Titleist ProV1. I prefer a little softer ball that is in the $35 price range, which I why I was playing chrome soft.

Why I tested:

With Callaway going up to $45 on the chrome soft, I figured it was time to find a new mid 30 dollar price ball.

How I tested:

I do not use a launch monitor. I did all testing at my course with dormant bermudua fairways and greens. I took a brand-new sleeve of chrome soft Truvis (red soccer ball) and a brand new sleeve of TourSoft balls. I hit one Callaway and then one Titleist for every shot, in that order. I hit short, medium, and log chips (your standard bump and run shots). I hit short, medium, and long pitches (medium trajectory shots). I hit flop shots as well. Then, I went to about 50 yards out and hit to center of the green. Then, I went to full wedge shots from 100 yards. I then hit 6 irons from 175. Finally, I hit drivers on course (in sloppy wet fairways, so all carry, no roll). All in all, I spent a good 2 hours doing this test.

Clubs used:

Vokey SM6 56* raw black with 10* bounce in S grind. Rest of the equipment is in my sig. For driver, I also used Callaway XR 16 Pro 9* with HZRDUS green 65g….just so you don’t think that one driver favors one brand of ball or the other.

Results: