How to Become the Best Putter in the World....

Am I the best putter in the world? Probably not, but I DO feel like I am and that is what matters. The best thing I ever did for putting was 26 years ago when all I did was putt and play.... I was playing golf for a living so I spent all my free practice time putting for hours upon hours during the time I was not playing. During that 3 month stretch the first thing I did when I woke up in the morning was look in the mirror and say "I am the best putter in the world". It's amazing how combined with hard practice that after a while you actually start believing it.

I never actually TRY to make putts, my sole objective is to "put a good stroke on it" and this is the mantra I use when I am standing over each putt. If it doesn't go in, I am not disappointed because that wasn't my goal, it was just the end result and thinking otherwise can lead to problems such as the Yips which starts with being too results oriented and not enough process oriented.

I have been doing these drills for 26 years and I promise they work like a charm and the longer you do them for the better putter you will become. Once you can finish drills 2 through 4 in the 30-45 minute range then you know you will be on the right track to being a GREAT putter.

1. Practice on a chalk line from 6 feet....25 putts with your right hand only and another 25 with both hands. There are plenty of other drills you can do on a chalk line, but it is important to groove your eyes and stroke at the same time to know what a straight putt is, because essentially they are all played as straight putts. Another great "free" training aid you can use is to tuck your left arm sleeve under your arm pit. I have been doing this for years and recently have noticed that Justin Rose has been doing this too before each putt, much like the right hand only drill, this will help you release the putter.