Jump to content

Mickelson hitting putt while ball was still moving?


Bomber_11
 Share

Recommended Posts

This is what the committee has to go by to execute a DQ:

 

A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his partner, at a significant disadvantage.

 

Not clear cut, IMO.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 952
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Can you imagine if a player had four strokes to win from short range, hit a putt that wasn't going to go in, and then reached out and tapped it in on the move to win, say, the Masters?

 

It simply cannot be that players have the option to play hockey on the green if the situation dictates that it may be favorable.

 

Ahh were in fictional scenario territory now...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, I do think Phil is lying in his postround comments. A two-stroke penalty should be afforded for accidentally hitting a moving ball. A DQ for doing it intentionally as it rolls down a hill because now we’ll never know for sure if it would have cost Phil strokes.

Ping G410 LST 10* (DI-6X)
Ping G410 5W (DI-7X)
Ping i20 3-UW (DI-95X, PX 6.0)
Ping Glide 2.0 56*SS, 60*ES (PX 6.0)
Ping Vault Arna

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is clearly grounds for a DQ......I'd like to say I have lost all respect for the USGA because of their non DQ. But that shipped sailed years ago USGA is a joke and so is the US Open most of the time these days because of the USGA.

 

Callaway Rouge 9* Aldila Rogue Silver 44.5"
Tour Edge Exotics E8 Beta 15* Aldila Rogue Silver
PING G410 Crossover 2i Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro Blue 80
PING i500 4-U Project X LZ 6.0
Vokey SM7 Black 54f - 58k
Scotty Cameron Futura X7M 33"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, I do think Phil is lying in his postround comments. A two-stroke penalty should be afforded for accidentally hitting a moving ball. A DQ for doing it intentionally as it rolls down a hill because now we'll never know for sure if it would have cost Phil strokes.

 

Interestingly, the criterion for DQ (see the first post on this page) seems to be based on outcome, not intent.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, I do think Phil is lying in his postround comments. A two-stroke penalty should be afforded for accidentally hitting a moving ball. A DQ for doing it intentionally as it rolls down a hill because now we’ll never know for sure if it would have cost Phil strokes.

 

Okay, well I think the rules say it's up the Rules people if they want to DQ him, depending on if they consider it a severe breach.

 

But I don't see why Phil's primary concern would be saving strokes in that situation. He was already out of contention. He knows he's on camera. He's going to intentionally cheat? Why should I believe that? His explanation seems way more believable. As dumb as the action still was.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What reason is there to clearly chase after a moving ball and hit it that doesn't involve saving strokes? Getting it over with on a hole is done by saving strokes. I think he just had a massive brain fart and realized he probably won't win a US Open ever and snapped. Maybe when he asks for an exemption some day this will tilt the scale to no.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Bobby Jones once ripped up his score card and picked up during the Open in 1921

 

https://golfhistorytoday.com/1921-bobby-jones-open-championship/

TM M6 9 GD Tour AD HD 6x
TM M6 15 GD Tour AD TP 7x
TM M6 18 GD Tour AD VR 8x
Mizuno JPX 921 sel 4-Gw Nippon SPO
Ping Glide 2.0 - 55ws heel grind, 60ss wrx grind Nippon SPO
Byron Morgan DH89 SSS 350g KBS CT TOUR BLACK
Best Grips leather grips
Snell MTB-X yellow

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Bobby Jones once ripped up his score card and picked up during the Open in 1921

 

https://golfhistorytoday.com/1921-bobby-jones-open-championship/

 

19 year old vs 48 year old.

 

I'm not justifying anything. Phil was definitely in the wrong.

TM M6 9 GD Tour AD HD 6x
TM M6 15 GD Tour AD TP 7x
TM M6 18 GD Tour AD VR 8x
Mizuno JPX 921 sel 4-Gw Nippon SPO
Ping Glide 2.0 - 55ws heel grind, 60ss wrx grind Nippon SPO
Byron Morgan DH89 SSS 350g KBS CT TOUR BLACK
Best Grips leather grips
Snell MTB-X yellow

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What reason is there to clearly chase after a moving ball and hit it that doesn't involve saving strokes? Getting it over with on a hole is done by saving strokes. I think he just had a massive brain fart and realized he probably won't win a US Open ever and snapped. Maybe when he asks for an exemption some day this will tilt the scale to no.

 

To save time and simply out of frustration and maybe wanting to send a message of anger to the USGA.

 

In his mind, he said he wasn't sure whether it would mean a higher or lower score in the end, given the 2 stroke penalty.

 

So it definitely saved time and ended the hole. Whether it saved strokes, no one knows. If you believe Phil, his intention was not to improve his score.

 

I don't think Phil is afraid of what his score was going to be if he let the ball go. He was already out of contention. And he has a great short game. You think he wouldn't bet on himself to get up and down in less than 5 shots (he'd be hitting 6 from wherever the ball ended up)?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Imagine if a young player did it. We'd be ready to euthanize all millenials for their horrible tantrums

 

110%

 

Remember Rickey went untucked? Lol Thought 90% of the golfing public were about to have strokes.

Callaway Rogue Sub Zero, Rogue Silver 70g
Callaway Rogue Sub Zero 3W, Rogue Black 80g
Nike VR Pro Combo 3-PW XP115
Nike VR 54/58/62 XP115
Evnroll ER2
TP5X

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Our picks

    • 2021 Fortinet Championship - Discussion and Links
      Please put and questions or comments here
       
       
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #1
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #2
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #3
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #4
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #5
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #6
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #7
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #8
       
       
      New Ping putter - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      New Bettinardi putters & Cover - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Ping Putters - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Odyssey putters - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Cameron putter and new ball marker - 2021 Fortinet Championship
       
       
      Sneds - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Peter Uihlein - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Charles Howell, III - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Scott Piercy - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Brandan Steele - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Mito Pereira - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Kevin Tway - WITB -2021 Fortinet Championship
      Joseph Bramlett - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
       
       
       
      • 19 replies
    • 2021 Tour Championship - Discussion and Comments
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      Odyssey putters - 2021 Tour Championship
      LA Golf putter shafts - 2021 Tour Championship
       
       
       
      • 25 replies
    • 2021 BMW Championship - Discussion and Links
      Put any questions of comments here
       
       
      2021 BMW Championship - Tuesday #1
      2021 BMW Championship - Tuesday #2
      2021 BMW Championship - Tuesday #3
      2021 BMW Championship - Tuesday #4
      2021 BMW Championship - Tuesday #5
      2021 BMW Championship - Tuesday #6
      2021 BMW Championship - Tuesday #7
       
       
      Cameron T-11 & T-11.5 putters at 2021 BMW Championship
      Mizuno Pro FliHi and 225 irons - 2021 BMW CHampionship
       
       
       
      • 18 replies
    • 2021 Ping i59 irons & Glide Forged wedges in hand comparison pics!!!
      In hand pics of the new 2021 Ping i59 irons and Glide Forged wedges...
       

       
      Ping i59 7 iron
       

       
       
      Ping i59 PW
       

       
      Ping i59 Comparison Photos

       

       

       

       
       
       
       
      PING Glide Forged Wedges

       
      Ping Glide Eye Toe Wedge
       
      • 99 replies
    • 2021 The Northern Trust - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
      2021 The Northern Trust - Tuesday #1
      2021 The Northern Trust - Tuesday #2
      2021 The Northern Trust - Tuesday #3
      2021 The Northern Trust - Tuesday #4
      2021 The Northern Trust - Tuesday #5
      2021 The Northern Trust - Tuesday #6
      2021 The Northern Trust - Tuesday #7
       
       
      New Cameron for JT - 2021 The Northern Trust
      New Cameron putters for Garrick Higgo - 2021 The Northern Trust
      New Odyssey putter covers - 2021 The Northern Trust
       
       
      • 6 replies
×
×
  • Create New...