Jump to content

Mickelson hitting putt while ball was still moving?


Bomber_11
 Share

Recommended Posts

  • Replies 952
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The worst part of all this is that Chamblee and Co. won't shut up about it. They've been talking about this for 30 min now. He's nearly DFL, lets talk about the contenders.

Walter: Tell me Bobby, why do you play this game?
Bobby: I play because I love it.
Walter: Well I play for the money. I have to win. That is why every time we face each other I will always beat you.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No DQ...14.5. Those claiming 1.2 don't know what their talking about. They got it right.

 

Everybody gets it. People understand the semantics of the rule. A person is not a genius because they understand the difference between the two rules. It is his intent. And it was deplorable.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You're twisting his words. He never said "it was advantageous to him to not have allowed the ball to roll back down to the same position".

 

He said:

 

"At that time, I just didn't feel like going back and forth and hitting the same shot over", "I took the two-shot penalty and moved on. It's my understanding of the rules. I've had multiple times where I've wanted to do that. I just finally did."

 

"I just wanted to get on to the next hole, and I didn't see that happening at the time. I'd gladly take my two strokes and move on."

 

"In that situation, I was just going back and forth," he said. "I would gladly take the two shots over continuing that display".

 

Only when the interviewer specifically asked him if he knew where the ball was going to end up, did he say:

 

"No question, it was going to go down in the same spot behind the bunker," he said. "I wasn't going to have a shot."

 

So he never explicitly said what you said he did.

 

If you want to try to read between the lines and judge his motives, that's up to you. But when he described his motivation, he never said anything about doing it to gain an advantage.

Frankly I do not care what his motivations were. INTENTIONALLY stopping a moving ball should be an automatic DQ.

 

Please give me an example of where you would think it would be allowable for a player to make a stroke and intentionally stop it. And to add to that he even started he was trying to hit it back "as near the hole as possible".

 

I've never been a big fan but respected his game and record and treatment of the game.

 

Now, I guess two out of three ain't bad. ��

 

He hit a moving ball. That action is judged according to Rule 14-5 where the penalty is 2 strokes.

 

If you want it to be an automatic DQ, write to the USGA and suggest they change the rule.

David Fay has me covered. He said during the telecast that he feels it should be rewritten.

Callaway Epic Speed 9* playing at 8* PX Hzrdus Green 60s

Titleist TS3 strong 3 wood 13.5* PX Hzrdus. Smoke 75s

Titleist 818H2 19* hybrid Tensei Blue

Adams A12 21* UST VTS Silver 75s

Titleist TS3 23* Tensei Blue

Srixon ZX7 6-pw Nippon Pro Modus 125s

Taylormade MG2 50* 54* 58* DG S300

Scotty Cameron Newport Special Select 34” with flow neck by LaMont

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No DQ...14.5. Those claiming 1.2 don't know what their talking about. They got it right.

 

Everybody gets it. People understand the semantics of the rule. A person is not a genius because they understand the difference between the two rules. It is his intent. And it was deplorable.

 

It would not surprise me if they change that rule to 5 or more shots going forward. Mickelson has shown them some of the unethical approaches that could be applied to "take advantage."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No DQ...14.5. Those claiming 1.2 don't know what their talking about. They got it right.

 

Everybody gets it. People understand the semantics of the rule. A person is not a genius because they understand the difference between the two rules. It is his intent. And it was deplorable.

Meh I think some need to get off their high horse. When I hear about him needing to apologize for disrespecting a major, I think the usga already sailed that ship today. Need windmills and clowns.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I get a knick out of posts on this thread. Especially the posts about all knowing what Phil's intentions really were. Lol's

 

Maybe you should watch Phil's post round interview, where he stated what his intentions were. Giggle Giggle.

Saw the infraction, saw the interview,

Looked like he was good with the USGA

decision. So it over, time to move on.

And yes, its funny. I enjoyed it. It was a gamble on Phil's part, but I think he liked his odds.



Play Golf.....Play Blades......Play Something Else.....Just Go Play.....

4 HC
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can't wait until for the Masters next year and the players chipping behind the 15th green sprinting for the front of the green to hit their balls toward the hole before they go into the water.

 

I've seen this a few times in this thread, but I'm confused. Ball in the water is a lateral and 1-stroke penalty. Why would someone strike a moving ball, incurring a 2-stroke penalty to avoid a 1-stroke penalty?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You're twisting his words. He never said "it was advantageous to him to not have allowed the ball to roll back down to the same position".

 

He said:

 

"At that time, I just didn't feel like going back and forth and hitting the same shot over", "I took the two-shot penalty and moved on. It's my understanding of the rules. I've had multiple times where I've wanted to do that. I just finally did."

 

"I just wanted to get on to the next hole, and I didn't see that happening at the time. I'd gladly take my two strokes and move on."

 

"In that situation, I was just going back and forth," he said. "I would gladly take the two shots over continuing that display".

 

Only when the interviewer specifically asked him if he knew where the ball was going to end up, did he say:

 

"No question, it was going to go down in the same spot behind the bunker," he said. "I wasn't going to have a shot."

 

So he never explicitly said what you said he did.

 

If you want to try to read between the lines and judge his motives, that's up to you. But when he described his motivation, he never said anything about doing it to gain an advantage.

Frankly I do not care what his motivations were. INTENTIONALLY stopping a moving ball should be an automatic DQ.

 

Please give me an example of where you would think it would be allowable for a player to make a stroke and intentionally stop it. And to add to that he even started he was trying to hit it back "as near the hole as possible".

 

I've never been a big fan but respected his game and record and treatment of the game.

 

Now, I guess two out of three ain't bad. ��

 

He hit a moving ball. That action is judged according to Rule 14-5 where the penalty is 2 strokes.

 

If you want it to be an automatic DQ, write to the USGA and suggest they change the rule.

David Fay has me covered. He said during the telecast that he feels it should be rewritten.

 

I agree. It's confusing, too, because Rule 14-5 points you to Rule 1 in cases where it's intentional. And then Rule 1 points you back to rule 14-5. Which one do we listen to?

 

Phil essentially found a loop hole.

 

And the rules people seem to be picking and choosing which rule to follow.

 

Writing rules for golf is extremely hard. I think what we can all probably agree on in this case (including Phil), is that this wasn't the right thing to do.

 

They should just change the rule to hitting a moving ball on purpose to a DQ. I agree with you there.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

All Phil has to do is WD, issue some statement about how integrity means everything and presto! instant fan sauce. He's already texting it wasn't his best moment, so take more control Phil...

 

Just imagine, then he really gets to stick it to the USGA by righting their wrong. Early escape from traffic, more time with the family...blah, blah, blah

Link to comment
Share on other sites

All Phil has to do is WD, issue some statement about how integrity means everything and presto! instant fan sauce. He's already texting it wasn't his best moment, so take more control Phil...

 

Just imagine, then he really gets to stick it to the USGA by righting their wrong. Early escape from traffic, more time with the family...blah, blah, blah

 

There's money at stake here. You don't completely understand Phil.

Unseen, in the background, Fate was quietly slipping the lead into the boxing-glove.  P.G. Wodehouse
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If Phil wants to save face, he should say that he wanted to show the USGA how flawed some of the rules are. This 2-shot loophole on intentional cheating is the definition of a flawed rule. They will now have to deal with the fallout and hopefully the fix this rule to automatic disqualification for intentional breach of the rules. If it's an accidental breach, then you could apply a less severe penalty.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

I agree. It's confusing, too, because Rule 14-5 points you to Rule 1 in cases where it's intentional. And then Rule 1 points you back to rule 14-5. Which one do we listen to?

 

Phil essentially found a loop hole.

 

And the rules people seem to be picking and choosing which rule to follow.

 

Writing rules for golf is extremely hard. I think what we can all probably agree on in this case (including Phil), is that this wasn't the right thing to do.

 

They should just change the rule to hitting a moving ball on purpose to a DQ.

 

His action met the definition of making a stroke at the ball, so it Rule 14-5. Stopping or deflecting a ball is a different action than making a stroke.

 

I’m not sure why one action is DQ for serious breach, but not the other.

 

But I don’t agree that it should be automatic DQ. There would be plenty of scenarios where it isn’t a serious breach, and 2 stroke penalty is appropriate.

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Branded Chamblee just ripped him a new a**

 

I'll start caring about what Brandel Chamblee has to say when pigs learn to fly. Phil clearly broke the rules by hitting a moving ball but he took the appropriate 2-shot penalty and moved on. It was pretty refreshing to see a player with Phil's stature flip a big middle finger to the USGA. I can't even begin to imagine what they're going to do to Pebble Beach next year...yikes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I agree. It's confusing, too, because Rule 14-5 points you to Rule 1 in cases where it's intentional. And then Rule 1 points you back to rule 14-5. Which one do we listen to?

 

Phil essentially found a loop hole.

 

And the rules people seem to be picking and choosing which rule to follow.

 

Writing rules for golf is extremely hard. I think what we can all probably agree on in this case (including Phil), is that this wasn't the right thing to do.

 

They should just change the rule to hitting a moving ball on purpose to a DQ.

 

His action met the definition of making a stroke at the ball, so it Rule 14-5. Stopping or deflecting a ball is a different action than making a stroke.

 

I'm not sure why one action is DQ for serious breach, but not the other.

 

But I don't agree that it should be automatic DQ. There would be plenty of scenarios where it isn't a serious breach, and 2 stroke penalty is appropriate.

 

Intentionally breaking a rule to "gain an advantage" is cheating. That's a serious breach and should be automatic DQ. I think Phil has shown the USGA a pretty flawed loophole in this rule on striking a moving ball. If you accidentally double-hit a ball (T.C. Chen), that's a hell of a different than intentionally breaking the rules like Phil did today.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Mickelson should do the honorable thing and wd. I have been a fan since he was in college and I am extremely disappointed in his choice. I was watching this with my 8 year old today and my 8 year old called him out and said Jack would not have done that (my son loves Jack because of the 86 masters highlights and will raise his putter and say yes sir when he makes a longish putt for him). I have been telling my son this week he can’t tap the ball when he puts his putter down and then he sees a pro he knows his dad likes do this. Dishonorable actions and he should have been dq’ed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Anybody thinking Phil might receive some criticism from the fans tomorrow?

I doubt it, the ruling body made its decision, they can criticize the USGA,

I guess, but it is over, as far as this matter. But there could be a rule change in the future



Play Golf.....Play Blades......Play Something Else.....Just Go Play.....

4 HC
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Our picks

    • 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
      2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club - Tuesday #1
      2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club - Tuesday #2
       
       
      Adam Scott - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Justin Rose - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Collin Morikawa - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Jason Day - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Justin Thomas - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Erik Van Rooyen - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Matt Jones - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Cam Davis - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Cam Smith - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Byeong Hun An - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Min Kyu - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
      Joohyung Kim - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Tommy Fleetwood - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Jordan Spieth - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Lucas Glover - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Keegan Bradley - WITB - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
       
       
       
      Gary Woodland's new Cameron putter - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Kevin Na's new Odyssey/Toulon putter - 2021 CJ Cup @ The Summit Club
      Jucie wedges & Proto irons - 2021 CJ Cup at The Summit Club
       
       
       
       
      • 6 replies
    • 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open WITB Photos- Discussion & Links
      Please put any questions or comments here...
       
      Links:
       
      Harry Higgs - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Ian Poulter - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Corey Conners - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Harry Higgs - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Matt NeSmith - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      Doug Ghim - WITB - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      New Cameron Las Vegas covers - 2021 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
      New Project X HZRDUS Smoke RDX shafts - 2021 Shriners Hospitals doe Children Open
       
       

       
        • Like
      • 14 replies
    • 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Discussion and Links
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Monday
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Tuesday #1
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Tuesday #2
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Tuesday #3
       
      2021 Sanderson Farms Championship - Tuesday #4
       
      WITBs
      Aaron Rai - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Brian Stuard - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Eugenio Chacarra - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Davis Riley - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Brice Garnett - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Curtis Thompson - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Richy Werenski - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Andy Ogletree - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship
      Sahith Theegala - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Will Zalatoris - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Stephan Jaeger - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Kevin Chappell - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Jonas Blixt - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Kevin Streelman - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Sam Burns - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Matthew Wolff - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Jimmy Walker - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Gary Woodland - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Davis Thompson - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship Sam Saunders - WITB - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship  
      Special Galleries
       
      Odyssey putters - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship  
      Cameron putters - 2021 Sanderson Farms Championship  
        • Like
      • 5 replies
    • 2021 Fortinet Championship - Discussion and Links
      Please put and questions or comments here
       
       
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #1
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #2
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #3
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #4
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #5
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #6
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #7
      2021 Fortinet Championship - Tuesday #8
       
       
      New Ping putter - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      New Bettinardi putters & Cover - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Ping Putters - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Odyssey putters - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Cameron putter and new ball marker - 2021 Fortinet Championship
       
       
      Sneds - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Peter Uihlein - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Charles Howell, III - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Scott Piercy - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Brandan Steele - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Mito Pereira - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
      Kevin Tway - WITB -2021 Fortinet Championship
      Joseph Bramlett - WITB - 2021 Fortinet Championship
       
       
       
      • 19 replies
    • 2021 Tour Championship - Discussion and Comments
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      Odyssey putters - 2021 Tour Championship
      LA Golf putter shafts - 2021 Tour Championship
       
       
       
      • 25 replies

×
×
  • Create New...