2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Bandon Dunes Playing Tips

bigeasygator

I'm about three months out for my first trip to Bandon (November 7-11). I've read just about every thread there is regarding course reviews, travel tips, gear, accommodations, amenities, etc. That said, I haven't seen much when it comes to actually playing the courses. Curious to hear some playing tips that are relevant to playing Bandon, both in general and maybe more specific to an early November trip.

A little about my game to provide some context...I have very little experience on links courses. I took a trip to Ireland and played Ballybunion, Old Head, and Tralee, but my game was in a much different place then and I was really just worried about advancing the ball (I played to about a 15 handicap then, I play to about a 6 now). I don't hit the ball very far (driver carries about 210-220 on average, 7i carries about 155 on average) and typically hit a mostly straight ball with a low trajectory. I tend to play firm, fast courses a lot better as a result - I can hit the ball straight, I don't put a ton of spin on the ball, and when courses are firm I see about 30 additional yards from my drives.

Curious to hear what tips and perspectives you have when it actually comes to playing golf at Bandon and how you all think my game might travel. Do you notice more rollout on the fairways? What other aspects of the game do you see as important to work on? Sorry in advance for yet another Bandon thread but it's getting closer and I'm getting more excited :)

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In short, it sounds like your game will travel very well. The ability to hit the ball low and straight is probably the most important shot to have in your bag at Bandon. You'll want to be able to do that with every club in your bag, including driver.