Advice on how to get referred?

Hello,

I am a young professional (32) new to the area and looking to join one of the clubs near the city (Charles River, Brae Burn, TCC, Weston.) I've tried calling the membership offices of the clubs, but keep being told that I need to know members in order to be considered

Does anyone have any advice on how to meet members at these clubs? Any suggestions on how to break in?

Thank you in advance for your help!

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

It's now $30K over 3 years, $25K over 2 years, or $20K in 1 year. They are finishing a $10M gut reno of the clubhouse and pool by June, expansion of the driving range (I think to 200 yards... yeah no

In your situation, it's just going to be tough. Those four clubs, combined, probably have <100 members in your age bracket. Depending on your industry, your best bet is that an older colleague / partner is a member, or people in your neighborhood (if you live in close proximity to one of them).

But even then, the admissions process is not trivial - it's not a world where you just need a dude to "introduce" you and then you're good. You need to know a few members who would be enthusiastic about you joining.

Try picking up platform tennis. I play at a public spot, but we play Dedham, TCC, Weston, Wellesley etc. I can call a handful of members at any club now. Look for Gilfoy/Truck Stop if you've ever played tennis you should give it a whirl.

That's actually a really good suggestion...Brookline Paddle also has a lot of overlap with the clubs in question.