Golf Ball spin rates for higher swing speed/low handicap

I'm interesting in some comprehensive detail on what people are seeing for different spin rates (driver and other) across the high end balls. I've been playing Srixon XV for quite a few years as it was usually one of the softer yet lower spin balls off the tee, while having spin with the short irons. I'd ideally like as low of spin as possible off the tee while maintaining good short iron spin.

I was surprised to see Pro V's as being slightly less.

Here's one link with some numbers that surprised me. Granted it's one person with a fixed set of clubs and the swing speed is a little lower than mine.

I was surprised to see Pro V's as being slightly less, including the regular being less than the x.

https://www.tgw.com/golf-guide/top-ten-golf-ball-comparison-2019/

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Interesting. Everything I have seen so far showed the TP5X being much lower spin than the V1x in the driver. Wonder why there was such a huge difference for this tester.

Taylormade SIM - 9.75* - Diamana S Limited 
TaylorMade M5 - 14.25* - Tensei Orange
Callaway Apex 3h - 20* - Project X Catalyst

Calloway Apex 4h - 23* - Rogue Silver
PXG 0311p Gen 2 - 5-PW - Dynamic Gold AMT

PXG 0311t Gen 3 - GW  - Dynamic Gold
Ping Glide 3.0 - 54* (52* bent) - Dynamic Gold
Vokey Spin Milled - 62* - Dynamic Gold
Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8.5
Titleist Pro V1
Titleist Staff Stand Bag

I don't know their methodology, but I have to assume it was flawed. Nothing I've seen has shown a ball having 700 RPM of difference of spin on equivalent strikes with a driver. Pretty much any ball is going to be within a few hundred RPM with a driver assuming they were hit the same. Chances are they are including some off strikes in the data.