The Step Drill - It's a PRESSURE shift, not a WEIGHT shift!

I've been a slider/flipper since I started playing golf 20 years ago. On a good day I can break 80, on a bad day I can be closer to 100. I've tried just about every single drill/intent out there (think like 100 pages deep in Google searches), all to no avail. I follow Monte's teachings and have purchased a lot of his premium content (and also did an online lesson with him recently). There's something he covers in the efficient swing (and elsewhere, I'm sure) that I never really focused on/understood - It's a pressure shift, not a weight shift. I started digging a bit more into this today, and came across the Step Drill as explained by Athletic Motion Golf (google it as this won't allow me to insert links). I went out this morning and took 20-30 swings using this drill, then filmed a few normal swings. The before picture is from yesterday, the after from today, with only those 20-30 swings in between (yes, it's the same pullover, quit judging me). I obviously still need to eliminate some slide and get the left side rotating better with a firmer left side, but the difference in impact position was nuts. My intent was basically to just get as downhill as possible into the left leg just after P3.

Hope this helps someone else, I'm excited to keep working on it. Cheers!

BDCU958NP8NH.png

• Like 1

Yeah, it happens a lot earlier than people think. It goes back to the “there is no backswing then downswing” mantra.

Your backswing is progressively getting you forward as you continue to rotate back. They refer to it as “recentering”.

AMG has good info on it. Gankas gets you there with the thoracic extension piece at the top.

If you don’t get forward early enough, we fight a leverage dump, because we can’t complete the circle. I love the change you made!