2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Please convince me!!

Hi all,

I have been playing with Persimmon woods since I started playing again (7 year hiatus) and have really loved the sound, feel and control they give me. My wife,however, remembers my competitive golf days and is on my case to play in tournaments again. This, of course, requires me to get a decent handicap again. Can I play competitively in this day and age with Persimmon woods? There is no doubt that titanium woods hit it further but maybe a bit more wayward as a result. What’s your opinion?

Giving up a lot of distance by playing persimmon woods.

Multilayer balls won't spin enough with persimmon woods either, so that's another reason to update your driver and woods.

• Like 1

Driver: Titleist 913 D3 8.5° A-1 setting Graphite Design YS-6+ 65g stiff

Wood:  Titleist 980F 17° Aldila NV stiff

Hybrid: Titleist 909H 21° Aldila Voodoo stiff 

Irons:  Titleist 716 AP2 4- W  DG AMT S300

Wedges: Titleist Vokey SM7  54°,  58° DG S200

Putter:  Odyssey White Hot #1 Tour

Ball: Titleist Pro V1