Jump to content

Partner’s ball moved during search?


Recommended Posts

Playing fourball stroke play. Both of our opponents hit the ball to a similar area in the left rough. One opponent is walking (Dave), another riding (Ken). 
 

The walking opponent, Dave walks up with me and we find his ball and Ken’s ball is about 7 feet away. After Dave has found both balls, Ken drives up later and accidentally runs over Dave’s ball as he hadn’t seen either ball yet. 
 

Is there a penalty and what is the penalty?

 

All I could figure out was there was a 1-stroke penalty to Ken for moving Dave’s ball in play. He tried to insist it was moved “during search”. Dave had already found both balls, but Ken didn’t know that. Ken was lobbying for no penalty due to searching. 
 

What is correct?

 

Also, what if this was fourball match play? My partner kept insisting that if we had been playing match play it would have been a loss of hole for Ken and Dave. I don’t see that. I think it’d be the same, 1 stroke penalty to Ken and play out the hole. 
 

Thanks for the help. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

That's an interesting question, can the search time protections continue for one partner who continues innocently searching after the ball has been found by the other partner. My expectation would be

An official answer is in. 9.4b/2 applies, no penalty, the action "can reasonably be considered part of searching for the ball".

That's an interesting question, can the search time protections continue for one partner who continues innocently searching after the ball has been found by the other partner. My expectation would be no, search was over so Ken gets the one stroke penalty, but my confidence is less than complete and I suggest it is an RB-worthy question.

On your match play variation, one stroke penalty in stroke play remains one stroke penalty in match play.

 

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

For some reason I have a feeling this issue was discussed earlier this year.

 

Looking at the issue from another perspective. A player finds his/her ball after 2 minutes and 40 seconds of searching, goes back to get his/her bag and chooses a club, it takes 20 seconds. All the while the player's partner is searching for the same ball across the fairway in case of a ricochet off a tree. The partner doesn't realise the ball had been found until he sees the player picking a club from the bag. After choosing the club, it takes the player another 10 seconds to find the ball again.

 

If the search doesn't stop the moment the ball is found, that player's ball would now be lost. I'd feel quite uncomfortable with such a decision, now as for the reckless driver... ?

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
D & 3W: ST 180 / 21º, MP-H5 / 4-PW: MP-4 / 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe / Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Colin L said:

When you say it took the player another 10 seconds to find the ball again do you mean that he couldn't immediately find it when he returned with his club and had to search again, or that he simply took 10 seconds to walk back from his bag to the ball?

 

To find it again after failing to memorise its exact location.

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
D & 3W: ST 180 / 21º, MP-H5 / 4-PW: MP-4 / 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe / Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Halebopp said:

For some reason I have a feeling this issue was discussed earlier this year.

 

Looking at the issue from another perspective. A player finds his/her ball after 2 minutes and 40 seconds of searching, goes back to get his/her bag and chooses a club, it takes 20 seconds. All the while the player's partner is searching for the same ball across the fairway in case of a ricochet off a tree. The partner doesn't realise the ball had been found until he sees the player picking a club from the bag. After choosing the club, it takes the player another 10 seconds to find the ball again.

 

If the search doesn't stop the moment the ball is found, that player's ball would now be lost. I'd feel quite uncomfortable with such a decision, now as for the reckless driver... ?

 

Good point, but let me add a twist. If the ball player A found is not his and his partner player B continues to search while A takes his time to identify the ball found, does the search continue or was it stopped?

 

This is certainly something RBs need to clarify, just as antip wrote. Technically search was over when A found his ball but if partner B did not know it and continued to search for A's ball is he protected by Rule 7 or not?

Edited by Mr. Bean
Link to post
Share on other sites
20 hours ago, Newby said:

Did Ken know that the ball had been found?


Thanks for the replies!

 

No. Ken didn’t know Dave had found the ball. Both balls for that matter. Ken had to use the restroom after the tee balls so the 3 of us went up to where the balls should be. And two were an easy find. 
 

When Ken rolled up 30 seconds later, he certainly couldn’t have seen either ball, they were both in thick rough, which is the reason he ran Dave’s ball over. He also didn’t know the balls had been found as nobody had pulled a club yet etc. The three of us (not Ken) were still searching the area for my partners ball, which we never found.
 

So, in his defense, Ken couldn’t have known, driving up, which, if any balls had been found as we were still wandering about in the rough looking for balls. 

 

I hope that helps clarify a bit. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Augster said:


Thanks for the replies!

 

No. Ken didn’t know Dave had found the ball. Both balls for that matter. Ken had to use the restroom after the tee balls so the 3 of us went up to where the balls should be. And two were an easy find. 
 

When Ken rolled up 30 seconds later, he certainly couldn’t have seen either ball, they were both in thick rough, which is the reason he ran Dave’s ball over. He also didn’t know the balls had been found as nobody had pulled a club yet etc. The three of us (not Ken) were still searching the area for my partners ball, which we never found.
 

So, in his defense, Ken couldn’t have known, driving up, which, if any balls had been found as we were still wandering about in the rough looking for balls. 

 

I hope that helps clarify a bit. 


 

‘so if Ken has no idea any ball has been found and is searching for the ball(s) in his mind, why do you think there’s a penalty ?  Doesn’t this just apply? 
 

if a player accidentally moves his or her ball while searching for it: The player gets no penalty for causing it to move

Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, clinkinfo said:


 

‘so if Ken has no idea any ball has been found and is searching for the ball(s) in his mind, why do you think there’s a penalty ?  Doesn’t this just apply? 
 

if a player accidentally moves his or her ball while searching for it: The player gets no penalty for causing it to move

Because it’s his partners ball and his partner had already found both balls. 
 

I guess the main question is, when does a “search” end? Is it when everyone in the group agrees that every ball has been found? Or has the side search ended when one player has found both his and his partners balls? 
 

23-5b is what I’m mainly looking at....

 

”b. Partner Is Responsible for Player’s Actions
Any action taken by the player concerning the partner’s ball or equipment is treated as having been taken by the partner.

 

If the player’s action would breach a Rule if taken by the partner:
    •    The partner is in breach of the Rule and gets the resulting penalty (see Rule 23.8a).
    •    Examples of this are when the player breaches the Rules by:
    »    Improving the conditions affecting the stroke to be made by the partner,
    »    Accidentally causing the partner’s ball to move, or
    »    Failing to mark the spot of the partner’s ball before lifting it.“

 

IF the flip of that is also true. “ANY action taken by the partner concerning the player’s ball is treated as having been taken by the player”. Then I think it’s easy enough to deduce that it’s a penalty on Ken for running over Dave’s ball. 
 

I read it as, “Examples of this are when the player (Ken) breaches the Rules by: Accidentally causing the partner’s ball (Dave’s ball) to move.”
 

That is exactly what happened. But it’s muddied because only one of them knew the balls were found. 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, Augster said:

Because it’s his partners ball and his partner had already found both balls. 
 

I guess the main question is, when does a “search” end? Is it when everyone in the group agrees that every ball has been found? Or has the side search ended when one player has found both his and his partners balls? 
 

23-5b is what I’m mainly looking at....

 

”b. Partner Is Responsible for Player’s Actions
Any action taken by the player concerning the partner’s ball or equipment is treated as having been taken by the partner.

 

If the player’s action would breach a Rule if taken by the partner:
    •    The partner is in breach of the Rule and gets the resulting penalty (see Rule 23.8a).
    •    Examples of this are when the player breaches the Rules by:
    »    Improving the conditions affecting the stroke to be made by the partner,
    »    Accidentally causing the partner’s ball to move, or
    »    Failing to mark the spot of the partner’s ball before lifting it.“

 

IF the flip of that is also true. “ANY action taken by the partner concerning the player’s ball is treated as having been taken by the player”. Then I think it’s easy enough to deduce that it’s a penalty on Ken for running over Dave’s ball. 
 

I read it as, “Examples of this are when the player (Ken) breaches the Rules by: Accidentally causing the partner’s ball (Dave’s ball) to move.”
 

That is exactly what happened. But it’s muddied because only one of them knew the balls were found. 

 


 

but a search cannot be over if someone who’s searching isn’t informed that the ball was found!  Can it?  That seems highly illogical to me, there’s not bad-intent going on, they just don’t know yet.  I think the search is over when everyone is informed the ball is found.  There’s a practical aspect to it too, I may outside earshot of everyone and just can’t hear you say it’s found.  Until I’m informed as the searcher, I don’t know how I could know it’s over unless the time limit has elapsed.

Edited by clinkinfo
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 4 months later...
55 minutes ago, antip said:

An official answer is in. 9.4b/2 applies, no penalty, the action "can reasonably be considered part of searching for the ball".

Ironic, but just today I got notified by my Allied Golf Association that the USGA gave them a parallel answer on a similar question.  I’m surmising your answer came from the R&A, perhaps a joint determination had just been made, and perhaps a new Clarification is on its way next quarter.

Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, Sawgrass said:

Ironic, but just today I got notified by my Allied Golf Association that the USGA gave them a parallel answer on a similar question.  I’m surmising your answer came from the R&A, perhaps a joint determination had just been made, and perhaps a new Clarification is on its way next quarter.

My answer advised the USGA and the R&A had jointly resolved the question.

Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, antip said:

My answer advised the USGA and the R&A had jointly resolved the question.

As I understand it, this is the standard procedure.  When new issues/questions arise, "new" being such that an answer had not already been drafted and accepted, but maybe not published, there would be joint discussion between R&A and USGA Rules Committees to arrive at "the" answer to be presented.  "Getting it right", in nearly all situations, is more important than speed.

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Our picks

    • **GIVEAWAY** Cobra RadSpeed Big Tour Fairway ENTER NOW!
      Cobra RadSpeed Big Tour 14.5* fairway giveaway!!!.To enter reply in this thread that you're IN!
       
      That's it. You'll be entered into the giveaway (one entry per person). Winner chosen at random in two weeks. Be sure to check out the attached pics. Good luck!
       
      If you are not a member her please register here to allow you to reply to this post and enter. Registration is free... https://forums.golfwrx.com/register/
      ======================================================================================================
      We randomize all the number of posts and the #1 number on the top is the winner. Say there is 1,000 replies from members. We will randomize 1 to 1,000 using a website that has a randomizer. It scrambles the numbers and the #1 is the first place and the #2 is the second etc. If the winner has duplicate entries we count the first
       





       
        • Like
      • 885 replies
    • 2021 Valero Texas Open - discussion & links
      Please put any questions or comments here. 
       
      This week, the PGA Tour is at TPC San Antonio on the Oaks Course for the Valero Texas Open. GolfWRX was on-site Tuesday to catch a glimpse into the bags of some of the world’s top golfers.
       
      The field of 144 is getting ready to battle starting Thursday for the $7.7 million purse, with $1.386 million going to the winner. The tournament is also the last event where players can qualify for The Masters, just like Canadian Corey Conners did last year.
       
      Check out our "Most interesting photos" Part 1, and Part 2.
       

       
      2021 Valero Texas Open - Tuesday #1 2021 Valero Texas Open - Tuesday #2 2021 Valero Texas Open - Tuesday #3 2021 Valero Texas Open - Tuesday #4 2021 Valero Texas Open - Tuesday #5 2021 Valero Texas Open - Tuesday #6 2021 Valero Texas Open - Tuesday #7 2021 Valero Texas Open - Tuesday #8  


       
      Cameron putters (added Bernd Wiesberger's custom T-11) -2021 Valero Texas Open Piretti putters -2021 Valero Texas Open Branden Grace testing AutoFlex shaft @ 2021 Valero Texas Open  
      Check out our "Most interesting photos" Part 1, and Part 2.
       

       
        • Like
      • 29 replies
    • **GIVEAWAY** Odyssey Ten Triple Track Putter! ENTER NOW!
      NEW Odyssey Ten Triple Track putter giveaway!!!.To enter reply in this thread that you're IN!
       
      That's it. You'll be entered into the giveaway (one entry per person). Winner chosen at random in two weeks. Be sure to check out the attached pics. Good luck!
       
      If you are not a member her please register here to allow you to reply to this post and enter. Registration is free... https://forums.golfwrx.com/register/
      ======================================================================================================
      We randomize all the number of posts and the #1 number on the top is the winner. Say there is 1,000 replies from members. We will randomize 1 to 1,000 using a website that has a randomizer. It scrambles the numbers and the #1 is the first place and the #2 is the second etc. If the winner has duplicate entries we count the first
       





       
        • Thanks
        • Like
      • 1,543 replies
    • 2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play - discussion and links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       

       
      2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play - Monday #1
      2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play - Monday #2
      2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play - Monday #3
      2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play - Monday #4
      2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play - Monday #5
      2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play - Monday #6
       
       

       
      Hideki testing putters at WGC Dell Technologies Match Play
      Odyssey/Toulon Atlanta putter - 2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play
      Cameron putters - 2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play
      Patrick Reed testing TPT shafts 2021 WGC Dell Technologies Match Play
       
       
      • 54 replies
    • 2021 Players - discussion and links
      Please post any questions or comments here
       
       

       
      2021 Players - Monday #1
      2021 Players - Monday #2
      2021 Players - Monday #3
      2021 Players - Monday #4
      2021 Players - Tuesday #1
      2021 Players - Tuesday #2
      2021 Players - Tuesday #3
      2021 Players - Tuesday #4
      2021 Players - Tuesday #5
      2021 Players - Tuesday #6
       
       

       
      Maverick McNealy's custom 1 of 1 Callaway Apex MB irons - 2021 Players
      Adam Long's Cameron T-5 proto - 2021 Players
      Abraham Ancer's custom Muira irons and custom MMT shafts - 2021 Players
      Bettinardi putters & cover - 2021 Players
      Jon Rahm's bag - 2021 Players
      Xander Schauffele's bag - 2021 Players
      Sergio with a Cameron putter - 2021 Players
      Cameron T11 & 11.5 putters - 2021 Players
      Sergio Garcia's clubs - 2021 Players
      Scott Brown's Odyssey gamer - 2021 Players
       
       
       
      • 52 replies

×
×
  • Create New...