PSA to eBay sellers — be careful using FedEx

Hey guys. I thought I would post this information so that no one else gets burned like I did. 

I’ve been selling on eBay since 2001. My rating is over 500 and 100% positive. I say that only so that you know I am experienced and know my way around a eBay. I recently sold a 5 wood and rather than shipping the club out by USPS, which has been very slow lately, I decided to use FedEx through eBay.

When I purchased the shipping label on eBay, the price was about $10. I measured the box myself which was 48 x 5 x 5.  I brought the box to the FedEx shipping facility myself. The FedEx representative took the box, scanned it, and gave me a receipt.

About two weeks later, I decided to check my eBay account, and to my surprise, the shipping price was not the $10 that I had agreed to, but rather was a whopping $28.  I immediately called eBay and explained the situation and they told me that while the box was in process, FedEx determined that the actual length was 50 x 6 x 4 and not 48 x 5 x 5 and therefore applied the surcharge. Apparently, this is part of their terms and conditions that we agree to when we use them.

I told the eBay representative that I was really disappointed that it would allow a third-party partner to engage with its customers, particularly long-term customers, in this way. Like I said, I measured the box myself and it was a standard golf club box which I believe was 48 inches. But in any case, if there was a problem with the size of the box, I would expect FedEx to alert me to that problem at the time I dropped off the package and not unilaterally charge me almost triple what I agreed to pay at some point during the process.   And had they told me it would be $28 because they believed the box was 2 inches longer than what I had measured it that, I would have said thank you very much and I’ll taking my business elsewhere.