2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Nightmare eBay/FedEx experience

Valtiel

This is a complicated one, and I wanted to make everyone aware so you can be on the lookout for the specific set of circumstances that created this nightmare. This will mostly be a FedEx rant with a side of negligent eBay seller and general crazy circumstances. I have been using eBay since 2004 and have always had 100% positive feedback (521 score) as well as managed online sales through eBay for a musical instrument business in the past. I am VERY experienced with eBay and online selling, and I have navigated a few tough situations in the past, but this one is special. The order of events is as follows:

1) Shaft purchased from ebayer "css-stl", user name on here @Techvan4Life in the first week of August. I do not believe he is active here. 

2) Seller uses FedEx apparently via an existing FedEx business account (this creates problems later on). I use a PO Box, which in my experience FedEx will not deliver to, so I attempt to reroute the package to a local FedEx Hub. 

3) FedEx customer support says that I am unable to put in this request, and the seller must do so, apparently due to this shipment being attached to this person's FedEx account. Fine, I ask the seller and he obliges in a timely manner, no problems so far. FedEx tracking updates to show the address change request as it arrives in my state (August 12th), perfect. 

4) The next day, the package is delivered to a different city 90 mins away from me, the city I used to live in (weird?). I contact the seller and he is just a confused as I am. I ask him to look into it and he insists that he did everything correctly on his end (it turns out later that he did). It is Thursday August 13th and he says he will contact his FedEx Rep to figure out what happened.