2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

USGA Distance Rollback and the Future of Golf?

PJE

We've all heard about the USGA Distance Insight Project. Reportedly, they are resuming work on it.  I read comments from Mike Davis, USGA, today in which he essentially said  governance is not about being popular and he alluded to not being content with the status quo (regarding distance).

DeChambeau destroyed Winged Foot (even though he was the only guy under par and he putted well) but Winged Foot and other blue blooded older clubs are near and dear to the heart of the USGA.  More importantly, DeChambeau's way of playing, full speed ahead and damn the rough, seems a portent of things to come (maybe) in golf. (There are already plenty of hulking long drivers who can't  actually play golf, i.e., score).

I think the USGA is going to roll back distance by about 20%, probably via a ball rollback, by 2022.

I started playing golf when persimmon clubs, blades, and balata balls were pretty much the only things available and when a good amateur golfer usually drove the ball about 225 yards, maybe 230 yards. Golf is a hell of a lot more fun today hitting longer drives and shorter irons.

The USGA has not shown a willingness to embrace bifurcation, even thought that makes sense. 

If the USGA does roll back distance, what do you think will be the future?  

• The PGA Tour accepts the new USGA rules?
  • The PGA Tour and manufacturers enter into coalition to play under PGA Tour rules which supercede USGA Rules?
  • Manufacturers and/or the PGA Tour sue the USGA?
  • What would most recreational golfers do? Play by the revised USGA rules or just buy and play illicit equipment (during recreational rounds)?  Would new rules lessen participation in amateur events, e.g., club championships, etc.? 
  • Would a distance rollback hurt or help the game?
Edited by PJE
  • Thanks 1

"Get dressed Spaulding, you're playing golf today."
" No I'm not Grandpa, I'm playing tennis."