Getting accused of giving lessons at my local course.....

Jtgavigan

The last two weekends, the head pro at a course and driving range I frequent has accused me of giving lessons at the course. I will paint the scenario below, but I am at a loss of what to do, because I have always tried to help players with less skill/experience get better, but I am NOT a golf pro. I am a scratch player (actually, slightly on the plus side) and can give a tip or two sometimes to someone struggling on the range or chipping. Evidently, this course has had issues with people giving lessons on their range, which takes money from them. I knew of a guy who was doing that and they kicked him off the course. So, I get that.

So, last Sunday, I had reshafted an old one iron and wanted to hit it, as well as pay my buddy John for some driving irons that I bought from him (I built them for him originally and they are a poor fit for his swing right now and he didn't like them, so I bought them from him as they do fit me well).  We are taking lessons from the same pro at a different facility and I know what our pro is teaching him. I saw that he wasn't doing what our pro had asked, so I videoed him and was helping him get more on plane. So, the head pro walked over and asked if I was giving a lesson. I told him no and explained the situation. After my buddy left, I went into the pro's office, re-explained everything and told him that I have stopped and helped people from time to time, but I don't charge and I know my limits. I just want people to enjoy the game. When I left his office, I saw another friend and member (semi-private course) named Darren practicing his chipping, so I stopped and chatted with him for probably 15-20 minutes and then I left.