Looking for club advice (tall new golfer)

greenbean4606

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping the forum can help me figure out the best way to approach my club selection.  I just started playing in the last 3-4 months but have become obsessed with the game.  I had been playing with 20+ year old beginner set but on a bit of a whim I bought some TRX powerslot irons (4-PW) from Gigagolf.   I am 6'7" so I knew that I needed custom clubs so I got them +1" and 3 degrees upright and I guesstimated my shaft flex.  They were cheap ~$175.00 so I'm not out too much but now I wish I had taken some more time and looked into used options that I could customize (callawaypreowned) or some higher end places like Maltby or Sub70.  I've been taking them to the range a couple times a week and they seem ok but I'm wondering if something else would have been better for me.

I did buy some (50 and 56 degree) TSW forged wedges from maltby and I can hit that 50 degree wedge much more consistently than I can the pitching wedge from gigagolf.  I'm not sure what it is about it but I tend to hit the toe on the gigagolf PW more often than I'd like in comparison with the TSWs.

I'm looking for advice on where to go from here.  Should I play with what I have for 2-3 years, take lessons, and fine tune my game first or should I get fitted first?  

Thanks in advance!

This may be a beaten horse answer but definitely get fitted. At 6'7" you know nothing off the rack will fit you perfectly, you can get close but you still may be off. If you really enjoy playing golf and thinking you'll play for a long time and have the funds get fit. It will make the game much more enjoyable, you know these clubs are fit for you and you may even be able to enjoy the game even more.

The downfall is you can't get fitted for DTC brands like Sub70, Hogan, etc. But you can always get a demo club or two to try out but unfortunately most will be standard spec but I'm sure some may be able to do a custom demo for your situation.