2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Laquer finished persimmon sounds muted???

Happy New Year gents, 

I'm still very new to playing vintage irons (1969 Wilson's) and persimmon woods (MacGregor eye o matics), so this question may just be common knowledge.  If so, I apologize in advance.  

My question...,  The persimmons sound muted, and make very little sound, when I hit them.  They are refinished with a heavy coat of laquer, it looks like.  I hit the Wilson Duo Soft balls.  My memory of hitting old school persimmons, with balata's is a beautiful wood "whack" sound.  Is my memory just off, or is it the ball, or the laquer finish perhaps?  I was thinking of buying another set of vintage persimmon woods without the laquer finish, but don't want to waste the money if that is not the issue.  I'd like to get the vintage sound and feel experience. 

Anyway, I knew that you fellas would know the answer.  Thanks for any insight you can provide. 

Hit em good

Driver: Ping G25

4w & 7w: Ping G25

23° Hybrid: Ping G25

5i - pw: Mizuno MP64

54° & 58°: Cleveland RTX 4 raw

Putter: The Wilson 8802 (vintage model)

Ball:  Titleist Pro V1x
Bag: Original Jones Golf Bag (green)

2 minutes ago, deejaid said:

I think what you are referring to as lacquer is actually polyurethane clear coat.   If they have been refinished they were likely done one of two ways; spray polyurethane or dipped polyurethane.    

A sprayed polyurethane finish is sprayed with aerosol can polyurethane and is much thinner than a dipped finish which is literally dipping the club head in a can of polyurethane and letting the excess run off.   A dipped finish is definitely more durable but it can end up being very thick if the refinished didn’t thin the polyurethane first.

If your club has had multiple coats of a dipped finish it will one not be very attractive as it will look too shiny and thick and two, won’t give you that solid persimmon feel you are looking for.