Jump to content

Recommended Posts

The other day playing with a friend his ball was on a penalty area, weeds knee high and the ball clinging off the burn's wall.  He proceeded to hit and he whiffed it three times.  He finally dropped the ball and continued play.  Like three holes later a guy we know showed up and we told him about my friend's nightmarish hole.  This guy, who used to be a pro, said missing the ball altogether no longer counted as a shot under the 2019 rules

 

I don't know where this all has come from but I've heard more than one golfer pro and amateur alike repeat this.  Perhaps it's something that was predicted by media and internet sites prior to 2019 and the change has never happened in the end.  Has anyone heard about that "new rule"? 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I am fairly sure whiffs still are considered strokes if the intent was to make a stroke.

Just to clarify, a whiff isn't a penalty. It's an actual stroke. A stroke that didn't move the ball but no different than a stroke that did move the ball.

If a player is trying to hit the ball and misses (or whiffs) it then that is a stroke . If the player stops or alters swing in an effort to miss the ball and does not make the ball move, then there is no stroke assessed. The only time this isn't true is if your ball falls off the tee on the teebox during a practice swing and you accidentally hit it. 

 

I'd be weary of that "Pro's" advice in the future....

Edited by Abh159
Clarification
Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, Abh159 said:

If a player is trying to hit the ball and misses (or whiffs) it then that is a one stroke penalty. If the player stops or alters swing in an effort to miss the ball and does not make the ball move, then there is no penalty. The only time this isn't true is if your ball falls off the tee on the teebox during a practice swing and you accidentally hit it. 

 

I'd be weary of that "Pro's" advice in the future....

 

Just to clarify, a whiff isn't a penalty. It's an actual stroke. A stroke that didn't move the ball but no different than a stroke that did move the ball.

  • Like 1

Cobra SZ 9* : Ventus Blue 6-S

Cobra F9 Tour 4W : Tour AD TP 8-S

Cobra ForgedTec 3-iron : Nippon Modus3 105-S

Srixon Z785 4-PW : Nippon Modus3 120-S

Cleveland RTX3 50, 54, 58 : Nippon 115-S Wedge

Piretti Potenza 370g : Breakthrough Technology Stability Shaft - 34"

Link to post
Share on other sites

The pro was clueless:

 

https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#stroke

 

13 minutes ago, Abh159 said:

If a player is trying to hit the ball and misses (or whiffs) it then that is a one stroke penalty. If the player stops or alters swing in an effort to miss the ball and does not make the ball move, then there is no penalty. The only time this isn't true is if your ball falls off the tee on the teebox during a practice swing and you accidentally hit it. 

 

I'd be weary of that "Pro's" advice in the future....

 

There's no penalty, only the stroke counts. So if you whiff your first stroke, you're lying 1 and hitting 2, not 3. Also, movement of the ball is irrelevant, it's all about intent to strike the ball and whether or not you struck the ball (see the definition linked above).

 

It seems like you're implying there's a penalty if you make contact with a ball falling off the tee in the teeing area with a practice swing. Just to make sure, there's no penalty as you're  allowed to move the ball inside the teeing area any way you want (whether or not the ball is in play) nor is it a stroke as there was no intent to strike the ball.

 

Making contact with the ball with a practice swing outside of the teeing area would naturally be a one-stroke penalty and the ball would need to be replaced.

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
D & 3W: ST 180 / 21º, MP-H5 / 4-PW: MP-4 / 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe / Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, naval2006 said:

The other day playing with a friend his ball was on a penalty area, weeds knee high and the ball clinging off the burn's wall.  He proceeded to hit and he whiffed it three times.  He finally dropped the ball and continued play.  Like three holes later a guy we know showed up and we told him about my friend's nightmarish hole.  This guy, who used to be a pro, said missing the ball altogether no longer counted as a shot under the 2019 rules

 

I don't know where this all has come from but I've heard more than one golfer pro and amateur alike repeat this.  Perhaps it's something that was predicted by media and internet sites prior to 2019 and the change has never happened in the end.  Has anyone heard about that "new rule"? 

With extra emphasis on "used to be a pro".......this guy doesn't know what he's talking about.  A whiff is definitely a stroke if he intended to hit it....which, based upon your description of the events, is what happened.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Unless something has drastically changed that I am not aware of, if someone takes a swing at the ball and totally misses the ball, it's still a stroke.

 

  • Titleist TS2 9.5', Ventus 5 "S"
  • Titleist TS2 16', Ventus 7 "S"
  • Titleist 718 T-MB 17' 2i TENSEI AV White AM(2) "S"
  • Titleist 620 Series 3i-PW TENSEI AV White AM(2) "S"
  • SM6 F-52/8 TENSEI AV White AM(2) "S"
  • SM6 M-58/8 DGS200 "S"
  • SC CA Monterey
  • ProV1 or AVX
Link to post
Share on other sites

This all stemmed from Kevin Na’s problems a few years back before he became an absolute world beater. He couldn’t get to where he wanted at the top of the swing, so he would finish the swing and swing over the ball. I.e. intentionally miss it. He’d do this multiple times. 
 

I remember many, many people and discussions locally and on the net that would go like this, “He’s whiffing and not counting all his strokes” then someone that understands the rule would say, “He wasn’t trying to hit the ball so it’s not a stroke”. Which, I guess, go interpreted into “If you make a stroke and miss it, you don’t count the stroke. Like Kevin Na.” 
 

I have no idea how many times I’ve had that exact discussion. I know it’s more times than I have fingers. 
 

Not to change the subject, but my friend, THREE TIMES this year, accidentally struck his ball in play with his practice swing. He put it back and wasn’t going to take the penalty. Saying, “I thought they changed that last year”. Ugh. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Augster said:

This all stemmed from Kevin Na’s problems a few years back before he became an absolute world beater. He couldn’t get to where he wanted at the top of the swing, so he would finish the swing and swing over the ball. I.e. intentionally miss it. He’d do this multiple times. 
 

I remember many, many people and discussions locally and on the net that would go like this, “He’s whiffing and not counting all his strokes” then someone that understands the rule would say, “He wasn’t trying to hit the ball so it’s not a stroke”. Which, I guess, go interpreted into “If you make a stroke and miss it, you don’t count the stroke. Like Kevin Na.” 
 

I have no idea how many times I’ve had that exact discussion. I know it’s more times than I have fingers. 
 

Not to change the subject, but my friend, THREE TIMES this year, accidentally struck his ball in play with his practice swing. He put it back and wasn’t going to take the penalty. Saying, “I thought they changed that last year”. Ugh. 

I too think it must have all started with the Kevin Na intentional whiff affair.  If I can recall, the guy used to tell

officials before the tournaments started that if he missed the ball it'd be intentional.  

 

6 hours ago, rogolf said:

It's unfortunate when the score becomes more important than knowing and  playing by the Rules.

 I couldn't agree more with this.  I notice that in the past years for many golfers rules are ornaments of the game or even annoying stuff.   Probably the golf associations, clubs and ruling insititutions have failed to show the importance of the Rules in our sport, otherwise it's difficult to explain why so many people look down on the rules in a game where cheating is the easiest thing to do but, at the same time so detrimental to the spirit of the game.  Rules are an integral part of the game.  You search for a good swing while you learn the rules to play the game to its full.

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/4/2021 at 9:41 AM, Abh159 said:

If a player is trying to hit the ball and misses (or whiffs) it then that is a stroke . If the player stops or alters swing in an effort to miss the ball and does not make the ball move, then there is no stroke assessed. The only time this isn't true is if your ball falls off the tee on the teebox during a practice swing and you accidentally hit it. 

 

I'd be weary of that "Pro's" advice in the future....

 

 

On 1/4/2021 at 10:36 AM, Abh159 said:

Yes I've corrected the language in my original post. Thank you @Halebopp and @jvincent for jumping all over my typo.

 

Sounds a little snarky but it wasn't a typo, it was a mistake.

 

Regardless though, you corrected the part about the whiff being a stroke, as opposed to a penalty.

 

But, as Halebopp mentioned, the last part is still incorrect. :classic_wink:

Want more posters to read and reply ? "[EMBRACE] THE LINE BREAK"

 

Callaway Epic Flash SZ Triple Diamond 9.0 Tour AD TP-6 Stiff

Ping G400 hybrid, 19*, 70 gr Stock Stiff

Ping G20, 5-PW, DGS300

Ping Glide Forged, 48, 52, 60, DGS300

Vokey SM8 56/08 (Thanks WRX !!!)

Seemore MT7 Face Balanced (Today)

Chrome Soft Truvis Yellow/Black

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Our picks

    • 2021 WGC Workday Championship @ The Concession Photos- Links & Discussion (UpDaTeD)
      Please post any questions or comments here.
       
      Links...
       
      2021 WGC Workday Championship - Tuesday #1
      2021 WGC Workday Championship - Tuesday #2
      2021 WGC Workday Championship - Tuesday #3
      2021 WGC Workday Championship - Tuesday #4
      2021 WGC Workday Championship - Tuesday #5
      2021 WGC Workday Championship - Tuesday #6
      Cameron Smith's Cameron 11.5 putter - 2021 WGC Workday Championship
      Cameron putter 2021 WGC Workday Championship
      2021 Ping putters - 2021 WGC Workday Championship
      Rory wearing new Nike Tour Victory II shoes - 2021 WGC Workday Championship
      Odyssey putters - 2021 WGC Workday Championship
       
      • 62 replies
    • 2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - discussion
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #1
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #2
       
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #3
       
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #4
       
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #5
       
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #6
       
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #7
       
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #8
       
      2021 AT&T Pebble Beach - Tuesday #9

      Ryan Moore with Axis 1 putter @ 2021 AT&T PB
       
       
       
      Please post any questions and comments here
      • 59 replies
    • 2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open - Discussion
      General galleries
      2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open - Tuesday #1
      2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open - Tuesday #2
      2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open - Tuesday #3
      2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open - Tuesday #4
      Monday Qualifier for Waste Management Open 
      Special galleries
       
      Ping PLD putters - 2021 WMPO Scott Brown with MMT graphite shafts in his ProTo Concept irons - 2021 WMPO TaylorMade putter cover from 2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open New Srixon golf balls - 2021 WMPO Bettinardi putters & cover - 2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open Cameron putters -2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open Piretti putters -2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open Cameron mallets - 2021 WMPO Odyssey 2-ball Ten - 2021 WMPO  
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      Jason Day's Bag...
        • Like
      • 21 replies
    • 2021 FARMERS WITB & Equipment Photos- Links and comments
      We are back on the ground at the 2021 Farmers PGA Tour event. Please add you comments in this thread. Here are links to all the galleries:
       
      Special galleries:
      2021 Farmers - Tuesday #1
      2021 Farmers - Tuesday #2
      2021 Farmers - Tuesday #3
      2021 Farmers - Tuesday #4
      2021 Farmers - Tuesday #5
       
      2021 Farmers - Tuesday #6
       
      2021 Farmers - Tuesday #7
       
      Cameron putters - Farmers 2021
       
      Odyssey 2-ball Ten - Farmers 2021
       
      Project X Even Flow RipTide MX & LX proto shafts - Framers 2021
       
      TaylorMade putter cover for Torrey Pines - Farmers 2021
       
      Sling Shot training aid - Farmers 2021
       
       
      • 47 replies
    • 2021 American Express WITB & Equipment Photos- Links and comments
      We are back on the ground at the American Express PGA event.
       
      Here are links to all the galleries:
       
      Cameron putters - 2021 American Express
      PXG Gen 4 prototype drivers - new putters
      UST Maymiya LinQ shafts - American Express 2021
      Mitsubishi Kaili & MMT shafts - American Express 2021
      Titleist TSi 2 & TSi 3 hybrids - American Express 2021
      TaylorMade putter cover for Palm Springs/Palm Desert - American Express
      New Aldila Synergy, Ascent & prototype shafts - American Express 2021
      Callaway Apex Pro iron, Epic Driver and fairway, Apex iron & hybrid - American Express 2021
      New Perfect Practice training aids - American Express 2021
      New KBS prototype shafts - American Express 2021
       
        • Like
      • 18 replies

×
×
  • Create New...