This may sound silly but my first attempt at winter golf this past Sunday was a failure. I’ve been playing golf for 20 years but never in the winter. However 2020 was good to my golf game and I didn’t want it to end. So I spent a good amount of money on some winter golf gear and some of it worked and some of it didn’t. Don’t get me wrong... I was warm, but my choices in layers up top made my swing feel very restricted and I couldn’t get comfortable all day. All full shots were a mess but short game was fine. I really feel like it affected my swing. 

I guess my questions is what is your go to method of staying warm up top without feeling restricted? Lower half with tights/pants was fine. Thought about untucking everything but I definitely didn’t want a breeze up my shirt in my follow through. I read on here someone suggested a loose windproof jacket with just a base layer under. 

For reference I wore:

-UA Coldgear Infrafred Long Sleeve Golf Mock (designed for golf)

-UA Playoff Polo 2.0

-UA Storm Daytona Golf Vest

Sorry if this post seems stupid  just looking toward the hardcore winter guys for their go to advice on feeling unrestricted but staying warm. 

Edited by FormerBigDaddy
  • Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Get some merino wool, forget that UA

Some restriction is unavoidable.  I prefer a much tighter baselayer than that long sleeve UA mock.  Played today and it was 38°F with a good breeze.  Wore the TSLA mock from Amazon.  It's tight but stretchy and moves well.  On top of that I could go with a 1/4 zip or Windlite and Adidas FrostGuard jacket or packable down vest. I'm always taking off something or putting something on while I play to try and get that perfect level of comfort.  I'll typically start off with the baselayer, 1/4 zip, and Frostguard and after walking 5 or 6 holes be down to just the baselayer and 1/4 zip.